Basic Account is an option available to accounts which were created before March 12, 2008. No account created after this date can be turned into a Basic Account. Basic Accounts will not have any advertising displayed on their accounts, but will have fewer benefits and features.
For more details, check out
no_lj_ads
EDIT: Also, I take back the nice things I said about InsaneJournal.
Adcreep there, too. Main page and user profiles.
{{{{HUGS FIREFOX}}}}
For more details, check out
EDIT: Also, I take back the nice things I said about InsaneJournal.
Adcreep there, too. Main page and user profiles.
{{{{HUGS FIREFOX}}}}
no subject
I need a Richard Armitage icon to cheer me up.
no subject
Sadly, what I see happening is everyone just drifting away, and that'll be sad, since I really do enjoy my on-line time. And other places like Blogger don't provide 'community'. :(
no subject
no subject
*sigh* This really irks me. I was about to create a journal for a friend of mine, but now it's too late. We'll have to move to IJ, because I'm not subjecting her to ads!
no subject
no subject
However, it's probably only a matter of time. Also, there's speculation that allowing Basic users to stay Basic is only temporary, too!
no subject
no subject
It's weird, I never cared about moving as a child, leaving everyone behind (and this was before you could keep up with e-mail!) but now, I'm getting old and settled and I don't like this change! :/
no subject
I think I'll reserve communities for my NaNo's through 2015. I don't know that I'll still be here by then, but hope springs eternal or some crap like that.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I thought about opening one tonight just to keep it in the wings if I want it later, but you know, I doubt I will. If I ever want to make a new one, I think I'll just go with Blogger.
no subject
It's already too late, you can no longer create a basic account. :/
no subject
no subject
no subject
Ridiculous.
And I know, the communities are fabulous, it's what everywhere else lacks.
no subject
Some eagle-eyed user noticed it in the FAQ. And a staff member responded, (http://news.livejournal.com/106731.html?thread=68484587#t68484587) but still no out-and out announcement.
no subject
no subject
Seriously. FIREFOX. ADBLOCK. You won't regret it. I thought I'd never get used to it, clung to IE for waaaaaay to long, and now I can't even imagine! It makes EVERY website better.
no subject
I'm a huge fan of all the Firefox add-ons (Biobar and StumbleUpon for example). I got it as soon as I was forced off the Mac (and Safari) and onto a PC again (a few years ago?).
no subject
This is what I have on mine so far (http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n44/smeddley/adblock-1.jpg), and I've only had my computer a month. My old one had way more, but these are the most common!
no subject
no subject
(oooooh, italics, maybe we can use those on the war against new, stupid policies? ~.^)
no subject
Italics may come in handy, definitely a good idea to keep them in the arsenal.
no subject
no subject
no subject
The only reason I don't mind ads on IJ is that they never promised no ads...
no subject
I guess it shows they did it well enough that it didn't jack up layouts, like a lot of the ones on LJ do - especially on the profile pages! Some of those screw things up something fierce.
I just hate ads in general. And I really, really, really love Adblock Plus! Seriously, we should all take the money we'd've spent on LJ and send it to those people...
no subject
no subject
no subject
I hope this doesn't push everyone away from LJ. I love the people and communities and suchforth here. D: (And I don't want to start another blog from scratch. >_>)
(Might have to look into this Adblock Plus thing. It's a firefox add-on, yes?)
no subject
no subject
no subject