I was dabbling with the idea of getting a permanent account. Not seriously, mind you, as I know I shouldn't fork over that much money right now. It's easier to do it in small, yearly chunks.
Plus, I'd have to stay on LJ for 6 years to break even. Now, while I don't - at the moment - have any intention of going anywhere, things happen. They could go out of business. I could develop a sudden and severe internet allergy. Aliens could invade and bring us technology that renders computers obsolete. You just never know.
So I was leaning towards just paying year-to-year (despite the possibility of the price going up) and after reading up on THIS I feel it's a good decision.
NOT because I have anything to do with it. I'm neither a law-breaker (um, at least in the serious sense - I admit to the occasional bout of speeding and we'll get to the mattress tags later) nor an RPG-er. There's no real reason for me to worry that my journal will be suspended, as I don't think I've ever put anything offensive (okay, other than my attempts at artwork!) in it.
But see, that's the point.
These people didn't see anything wrong with their journals, either. And in a lot of the cases, I can't say I'm sure there was anything wrong.
And as long as someone can, on a whim and the whining of another person, take away something that is 'mine', I'm not going to be 'in it' (in the financial sense) for the long haul. I'll take it year by year, in case someone suddenly finds foundation wall cracks *OMG OFFENSIVE* and they whisk away $150 of my money for no apparent raisin (Futurama love!).
There's a reason I bought a house in an neighborhood without an HOA (I'll put pink flamingos on my lawn if I bloody well please!). There's a reason I work for the government (job stability, it is NOT a fire at-will corporation).
And I realize that, to live in a society, there have to be limits. We couldn't function without them. But telling me you find the fact that my lawn is 3% dandelions is atrocious, or that my dress clashes with my hair and it looks awful, or that you really hate Harry/Draco and find it offensive (goodness knows I do, at that) is one thing. Telling me that - for no reason other than offending your delicate sensibilities - I have to weed my lawn, change my dress, or delete writing is unacceptable.
Grow up, learn to deal with things you 'don't like'.
Note: Like most, I'm not against targeting real criminals. But also, like most, even I can see this isn't the way to go about that. I also know there's a lot more than can be said about this, but it's already been said by other, more caffienated people better than I ever could.
Plus, I'd have to stay on LJ for 6 years to break even. Now, while I don't - at the moment - have any intention of going anywhere, things happen. They could go out of business. I could develop a sudden and severe internet allergy. Aliens could invade and bring us technology that renders computers obsolete. You just never know.
So I was leaning towards just paying year-to-year (despite the possibility of the price going up) and after reading up on THIS I feel it's a good decision.
NOT because I have anything to do with it. I'm neither a law-breaker (um, at least in the serious sense - I admit to the occasional bout of speeding and we'll get to the mattress tags later) nor an RPG-er. There's no real reason for me to worry that my journal will be suspended, as I don't think I've ever put anything offensive (okay, other than my attempts at artwork!) in it.
But see, that's the point.
These people didn't see anything wrong with their journals, either. And in a lot of the cases, I can't say I'm sure there was anything wrong.
And as long as someone can, on a whim and the whining of another person, take away something that is 'mine', I'm not going to be 'in it' (in the financial sense) for the long haul. I'll take it year by year, in case someone suddenly finds foundation wall cracks *OMG OFFENSIVE* and they whisk away $150 of my money for no apparent raisin (Futurama love!).
There's a reason I bought a house in an neighborhood without an HOA (I'll put pink flamingos on my lawn if I bloody well please!). There's a reason I work for the government (job stability, it is NOT a fire at-will corporation).
And I realize that, to live in a society, there have to be limits. We couldn't function without them. But telling me you find the fact that my lawn is 3% dandelions is atrocious, or that my dress clashes with my hair and it looks awful, or that you really hate Harry/Draco and find it offensive (goodness knows I do, at that) is one thing. Telling me that - for no reason other than offending your delicate sensibilities - I have to weed my lawn, change my dress, or delete writing is unacceptable.
Grow up, learn to deal with things you 'don't like'.
Note: Like most, I'm not against targeting real criminals. But also, like most, even I can see this isn't the way to go about that. I also know there's a lot more than can be said about this, but it's already been said by other, more caffienated people better than I ever could.
no subject
The stuff I don't like, I leave alone. There must be some lines, I agree (I'm nearly first in line against child-porn, especially), but sometimes stuff you find distasteful people should just leave alone.
no subject
I mean, a rape survivors group would have 'rape' listed as an interest, but not because they condone it. Likewise, what's wrong with a murder-mystery group having 'murder' as an interest?
Not looking at what the journal is before suspension is the problem. You never know what key words people could find and report as 'offensive'. :(
no subject
I mean, suspend all the questionable accounts, just in case, and then go through them on an individual basis. From the POV of the people doing it, this is probably the safest and most efficient way to work.
Though yes, it is unfair to many people. I may not like it but I think I understand it. And the ones that aren't breaking any laws or such, are reinstated, right?
no subject
No. At least, not in the case of the RPG journals. They're being told they can download the content, even though the journal is suspended, but are being told it will be permanently deleted.
no subject
no subject
They have some explanation somewhere about having 'crimes' as interests not being allowed, regardless if you're using the interest pro or con.
Seriously, I need to add 'removing mattress tags*' to my list of interests...
* technically, I know as the end consumer it's not illegal, but, you know, joke and all...
no subject
HOnestly, as a big fan of thrillers and crime novels (I really wish I could find my Patricia Cornwell books, among others), I don't see how having those interests can harm you. I think it should depend on content ... if you're teaching people how to blow things up, that's one thing, but just the interest isn't harmful in and of itself.
Snickers. Oh, that's too funny. And oh-so-appropriate, LOL.
no subject
A person's journal who liked to discuss Law and Order: SVU was suspended, since the show deals with sex crimes and there were 'keyword triggers'.
Also, at least one person came forward that had a 'survivor's journal' who was also suspended.
And a teen sex-advice comm (for promoting safe sex and asking questions, not hooking up) was suspended and the creator permanently banned.
...I think this has really gone beyond fandom and RPGs, now. :/
no subject
I hadn't heard any of the parts that went beyond my main fandom and RPG sort of stuff. That, I can deal with easily. After all, it is still questionably legal. Some of it, anyhow. But this other stuff ... show discussions, survivor's journals, advice columns ... those should not be deleted or banned.
I can't think of anything much more important than having a column for safe sex and advice (after all, where else are some kids going to turn to?). And the show stuff is (almost always) perfectly innocent.
I wouldn't have a problem with it if it fixed its mistakes regarding content, but a mass deletion isn't going to solve anything. In fact, it's just going to make people dig in their heels and root themselves down deeper, as well as go somewhere else less easily found/raided.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Although, I don't remember, are you anti-RPG, too? I don't do that either (despite growing up smack in the middle of the D&D fad).
I'm just upset about the way it seems to be handled, for a lot of reasons. First and foremost being that it's going to impact decent advocacy groups (rape survivors, etc) and second because it is rather defeating the purpose. Yippee! You got hundreds of RPG journals deleted! Go brag about how you're thwarting criminals, now! Meanwhile, the real criminals have plenty of heads up and aren't bothered at all.
It was like post 9-11 when they stopped allowing curbside luggage check-in. ...because that was the whole problem, right? Argh.
no subject
Yeah, yeah, it's terrible and blah blah blah.
But fandom people are angry.
This can only end in tears. ^__^
no subject
...and I don't know Ataniell, so...
But reading through some of the crap that is *reported* to be happening is really bothersome. I don't like feeling like I couldn't list certain books, TV shows, or hobbies (Backyard Ballistics, anyone?) without fear of indiscriminate suspension.
no subject
http://wiki.fandomwank.com/index.php/Ataniell
no subject
Find me another style that's 100% width with a sidebar and an 'edit' link, and I'll switch! Oh, and it has to have a userpic for every post.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Um, okay. Muenster?
no subject
no subject
Whatever cheese you Aussies fancy, then!
no subject
Have you been to the Warriors For Innocence website? It's disgusting. They're patting themselves on the back for getting a bunch of (mostly) kids locked out of their online journals, while the actual pedophiles sit back and laugh. Very productive, that.
I understood by the age of five that fiction =/= reality. What about that concept is so hard for WFI and LJ to grasp? Here's a hint: Most actual predators don't go around advertising themselves as such. Tends to alert the prey, you see.
no subject
I just went over to the library and checked it (I didn't want to do it from work) and it makes my blood boil. Also, I heard tell they said 'protecting children is more important that free speech'. Bullshit. Nothing is more important that free speech.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
And even if they didn't 'cause' it, they deserve the criticism for what they are.
WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
"Our decision here was not based on pure legal issues. It was based on what community we want to build and what we think is appropriate within that community and what's not."
--Barak Berkowitz, chairman and CEO, Six Apart
Worst PR statement EVAR, oh my.
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
No news is not good news, in this case.
This is just bad. All around bad.
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
I'm rather compulsively checking to see when word will come down. I'm not sure what they can possibly say to make me feel better about it, though.
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
Hi update page!
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
http://news.livejournal.com/99159.html?format=light
The comments will be filled by morning.
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON
Oh! I think you'll both like this. (http://youtube.com/watch?v=JxG6UXqNtz8)
Re: WAAAAAANKAGGEDDON