
Snowpocolypse 2013! I know for people in MN or Canada this is nothing, but for us it was a fair amount. I think some places here got as much as 14", they said it varied by neighborhood. I'd be willing to bet, just based on our stoop, that we got close to that. This was Thursday. Friday, after it snowed again, we shoveled again, and the sun came out and for the most part our driveway is dry, which is awesome. There's still a pile of snow that reaches the roof of my car on the far side, but hopefully when I need to take my car anywhere, gravity will be my friend and my car will roll down the driveway and pull away from the giant snow bank.
We had to shovel the whole driveway (no fancy snowblowers here!) because we were having a friend's birthday party at another girl's house, but her road was impassible. So at the last minute I agreed to host. Which meant getting enough parking spaces (the street still hadn't been plowed), cleaning the house, AND finishing the cooking I was doing (which was always my park in this).
So, lots of shoveling, standing on a tile floor ALL DAY yesterday, plus vacuuming and running up and down the stairs putting things away.... I tried to roll over last night after I'd fallen asleep and I think I groaned out loud. Nothing wants to move. NOTHING. I ache everywhere. But the party was a hit and everyone loved the food, so yay!
Unfortunately, the semi-forced (yes, I could have tried to drive through the unpolowed street to work) vacation days are going to put me MORE behind at work, so there's another stress - but I'll take that over the drive any day.
Oh, and look, another storm expected Sunday night/Monday and maybe continuing to Tuesday. The only good thing is it's supposed to start with rain, which might at least melt some of the piles of snow. But it also means we might end up with a layer of ice under the snow... *sigh*
no subject
but hey - we're just lucky.
Currently just a dusting and leftovers melteds from the last time we got an inch or two. Just little piles here & there along the edges of driveways.
Looks like you really got nailed.
no subject
Snowed again last night, not as much as they thought it would but instead of light and fluffy it was wet and heavy and stuck to everything. Lots of trees down and whatnot. :/
Remind me how much I loved the winter when it's 110 and I'm complaining about the heat, would you?
no subject
I live in the part of Canada that is SOUTH of Michigan. Winter temperatures here usually sit just above/below freezing from Dec-March. Which isn't to say we dont' get a freak snow storm in Late April but typically - it snows it melts, it snows it melts all winter long here.
no subject
Fun fact: we actually get more annual rainfall than Seattle. Their billing as so very rainy is a bit misleading (I have actually lived near there, so this isn't total conjecture). It rains often, but mostly just drizzle. And it rarely snows. Or gets really hot.
I picked the absolute worst climate to live in because we get all of them. From below zero to over a hundred and ten, snow, ice, torrential rain, hail, lightning, tornados... no hurricanes our tsunamis, I guess that's the bright spot.
Now I want to come live in your town... :(