December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Friday, September 30th, 2011 07:14 pm
You know, I might not have gotten the message right off (perhaps I'm not the brightest bulb in the box) but I'm sure now that the universe decided today would not be the day I got a new cell phone. And when I refused to take the hints, it took drastic measures and completely phone-blocked me.

1) I left my cell phone at home this morning. Obviously, not a great start to what was supposed to be the last day with my beloved (but starting to die) G1.

2) My husband came (with my phone) to visit a T-mobile at lunch, to sign up for the nifty $50/mo per line Unlimited Everything plan. Unfortunately, we found out that there's a minor catch... you no longer get ANY discount on a new phone, even after signing a contract. So that 'only okay, doesn't have all the features I really wanted in a keyboard' 4G I wanted? Yeah, $500. Sure, it's only $200 down, and the rest can be spread out over the 2-year term, but... still. $500 for a phone I don't really like? Plus, remember this is for both of us, so that's $1,000 worth of phone. Annoyingly, because of the cheap plan it does still work out to less than the other carriers over the two years, but I really really really don't like the phone. Or the employees, who have a way of making you feel like you are interrupting something really important (texting on their personal phones) when you go in there. PLUS! We couldn't even play with the 4G Slide on display because some customer had come put an unlock code on it, and the employees didn't know it, so... tough luck, I guess.

3) So, we're going to bite the bullet and move to the significantly more expensive Verizon, who has the Droid 3, the phone I've been lusting after. Head out there after work.

4) I actually don't like the Droid 3's keyboard. Too rubbery and smooshy and it's hard to type, especially with fingernails. Not impressed. But there is the Samsung Imagine, which had the < and > quick-access keys I need to do things like this and this and this without navigating up and down a bunch of menus. But my husband does like the Droid 3 which... they don't have. We have to go to another store.

5) Which is across a set of railroad tracks. And there's a train heading north just as we get there. So we wait. And wait. And wait. Finally, a caboose. The gates should go up any minute now... any minute now... any... oh, look, a train heading south! So we wait... and wait... and wait...

6) Get to Verizon store #2 and start to sign up, though oh my goodness the cost really is a lot more and even with my discount (which apparently I can get at a lot of cell phone providers that I did not know about that would have been saving me money for the last... at least 5 years) it's going to be a lot more and... I'm sorry, you need what? Apparently, to get a phone they need me to fax in a copy of my Social Security card. Which, amazingly, I did not need to do to buy my house, buy a car, or refinance my house, but cell phones are serious business, apparently. Of course, I don't carry my SS card (you're not supposed to) so... if we try to put it under my husband's name we're not eligible for the discount so... no phones for us. I am now slightly worried about my credit (it's been just about a year since we refinanced the house, and it was fine then, but... you never know) but it seemed they wanted it not because there was even a problem with my credit, but to run it at all? I don't know.

I'm just depressed now, because it was a whole lot of wasted time on a weekend I didn't have a lot of time to waste (craft swaps due next week!) and of course now I"m wasting even more time complaining about it, which does no good, so... I'm going to go mope and try to knit some flippers on to Nessie. :/