...did I mention crap?
The first two driveway estimates are in, and they're over $8,000. These are the two bigger companies, but still. I was really hoping for something closer to $5,000. I should be getting another one tomorrow, we'll see. If not, there goes ALL of the paying down I did on the HELOC over the last year and a half. Bugger.
Eight. Thousand. Dollars.
For a slab of concrete that runs from the street to the garage.
*pulls out hair*
The first two driveway estimates are in, and they're over $8,000. These are the two bigger companies, but still. I was really hoping for something closer to $5,000. I should be getting another one tomorrow, we'll see. If not, there goes ALL of the paying down I did on the HELOC over the last year and a half. Bugger.
Eight. Thousand. Dollars.
For a slab of concrete that runs from the street to the garage.
*pulls out hair*
no subject
GOLD, I say.
no subject
...or maybe they're using bottled water?
*shrug*
no subject
Seriously- what makes it so expensive? The materials or labor?
no subject
no subject
no subject
Houses are sucking pits of need. They're worse than kids!
no subject
no subject
Plus, we're talking about breaking up and shifting tons of existing concrete, doing a bunch of grading, and a lot of form and finishing work. By the time I learned how to drive the loaders and graders, rented them, then either got dumpsters or rented a truck to haul off the debris, then bought the finishing tools, well... I might as well have paid someone to do it.
no subject
And, since a driveway really effects the curb appeal of a house, a crappy amateur job can ruin your resale value.
See, I would never have thought of this, because we have a patch of gravel beside our garage that we just use for turning, and a strip of potholey dirt beside the road where we park our cars. (And I think, technically, that the strip of dirt belongs to the council not us. They're certainly the ones who are MEANT to fill in the deepening potholes of doom.)
~*~the countryside~*~
no subject
no subject
no subject
ahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHA
no subject
(Which is not to say that driveways are not a different kettle of fish, only that my instinctive reaction to the idea of paying someone to lay concrete is LOL WHUT. Instinctive reaction appears to have been wrong!)
no subject
My dad's made a few bookcases and a pantry, but mum doesn't let him
knock out a wall without checking to see if it was load-bearing -- OH WAIT HE DID THAT ONCEbuilt patios.no subject
So the idea of him attempting to lay concrete for a car is not very far off reality! (Of course, he'd research it first and see if it was something he could do, but I doubt he'd immediately assume he had to go for paid help.)
no subject
no subject
no subject
I lack the physical ability and the tools to do it, though! Besides, I'm the engineer, I'm meant for... managing. ;) We stand around and do nothing, y'know! (I could, if I wanted to be nitpicky, survey and design the driveway, but it really is pretty straightforward.)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
*cuddles* Hopefully the next quotes will be lower.
no subject
I hate being an adult sometimes! (Okay, most of the time, except the staying up as late as you want bit!)