The school bond passed. Because, you know, it's only another couple of dollars a month on your property tax and it's for the children.
I wish I could even concentrate on my NaNo novel to give me something to do, but I don't even feel like working on that.
There's been so much hate and anger spewed the last few months, it's hard to forget. Not directly at me, but I have lost people on my f-list to the hate and, frankly, I've lost a lot of respect for a lot of people. I don't feel like I can comment on half of the journals on my f-list because of the nastiness. There's never any call for the things that were said.
I think, for the most part, I've handled it well.
But, honestly, there's only so much I can take. I thought after the election it would get better, but it seems, for now, it's actually getting worse.
Being caught in the middle I'm an idiot in all of my beliefs - both 'sides' hate me, though I've only felt the wrath of one lately. I admit, I wouldn't be truly happy no matter who won, though I would have felt a little better about my money and my debt had the other guy pulled it out. I just hope I can look back in four years and realize my apprehension was for naught.
I do ask, though, that if you are going to keep up with the nastiness (or a majority of the people who comment on your journal will) to unfriend me now. I like all of y'alls non-political posts, but if this doesn't stop soon I am going to have to take drastic measures and, I don't know... avoid the computer altogether. I know a few people who have pretty much quit LJ over this, and I don't want that to happen (besides, I'm paid up through next June, I think...)
I wish I could even concentrate on my NaNo novel to give me something to do, but I don't even feel like working on that.
There's been so much hate and anger spewed the last few months, it's hard to forget. Not directly at me, but I have lost people on my f-list to the hate and, frankly, I've lost a lot of respect for a lot of people. I don't feel like I can comment on half of the journals on my f-list because of the nastiness. There's never any call for the things that were said.
I think, for the most part, I've handled it well.
But, honestly, there's only so much I can take. I thought after the election it would get better, but it seems, for now, it's actually getting worse.
Being caught in the middle I'm an idiot in all of my beliefs - both 'sides' hate me, though I've only felt the wrath of one lately. I admit, I wouldn't be truly happy no matter who won, though I would have felt a little better about my money and my debt had the other guy pulled it out. I just hope I can look back in four years and realize my apprehension was for naught.
I do ask, though, that if you are going to keep up with the nastiness (or a majority of the people who comment on your journal will) to unfriend me now. I like all of y'alls non-political posts, but if this doesn't stop soon I am going to have to take drastic measures and, I don't know... avoid the computer altogether. I know a few people who have pretty much quit LJ over this, and I don't want that to happen (besides, I'm paid up through next June, I think...)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
it could have put money INTO your wallet if you'd picked right
no subject
Ugh, I have to go to a meeting. *sigh* Just what I needed today!
no subject
To Smed: I'm sorry your f-list's been so scary. Mine's been pretty even-tempered and low key, which I've taken for granted, apparently. I'm sorry yours has been as volatile as all this.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
But seriously, I don't think people should be bashed for voting one way or the other-- that's what an election is for, guys. They pretty much exist so that people can have different viewpoints and express them. And that includes being more or less on the fence-- I'm sorry you've had hassle over that, and it better not happen again. You're too awesome for that. <3 *hugs*
no subject
There's a huge difference in saying 'Palin is a bad choice, just look at her voting record and her stance on education and religion, we can't afford that kind of intolerance' and saying 'you f'ing morons who'd vote for her have shit for brains and I hope you all die'. Just a wee tiny difference there. And I've seen far to much of the latter. Which is kind of ironic, you know, preaching tolerance and then going and saying crap like that.
And thank you for thinking I'm awesome. :)
no subject
which kinda betrays how much time I spend on the internet. So yeah, urgh. I don't subscribe to the idea of "if you can't say something nice then don't say anything", but come on, people. Civility and tolerance and manners and respect and all those good things. :/(I more-or-less go by "if you can't say something nice, but the not-nice thing still needs to be said, then for crying out loud please remember that this isn't a playground fight". :P)
And you're welcome! :D To be fair, you make it easy to hold such an opinion.
no subject
Let no one say I can't handle con-crit, but I've lived far to long being flamed and I'm tired of it. Can I move to Antarctica now? :D
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Sorry, I do understand. I'd love for this to be over, and for people to settle down. I don't intend to say much about it, too painful. But after two years of ramp up, I expect it's going to linger a long time.
no subject
If you can't even be a gractious winner, what kind of person are you? (not you, mind, that was the general third-person thingee).
Yeah, I'm glad I don't have to deal with the fallout from Prop 8 - though, sadly, I kinda wish my state was open-minded enough for it to even be an issue. I do commend the 3% of the population of my state that voted for neither of the 'main candidates', though, so maybe there's hope for some independent thought after all!
no subject
I've also had a lot of complaints on my flist about McCain supporters getting nasty on Facebook statuses and such, but honestly I haven't seen any of it myself. Maybe I just don't know any McCain supporters? I don't care either way, I just want everyone to STFU.
no subject
I did think they'd at least be gracious winners, but I guess I'm more naive than I thought. I haven't seen a lot of Obama hate, but then, I think even a lot of Republicans weren't particularly on the McCain bandwagon (they voted for him as a lesser of two evils, not because he was god-like - the people who simply think Obama is the best choice because of plans and policies aren't the problems, it's the people who idolize him. And no matter what, no matter if he fails, those people will never admit it and that'll piss me off even more).
I feel very alone out here in the center. I know there are others, rational, reasonable people, but they're hard to find. Partly, I think, because they're generally quiet. I really do hope the Libertarian party gets its butt in gear, because with the Republican hate, if the Democrats also fail it'd be a good time for them to rise up.
no subject
I haven't seen any nastiness on my flist, just happiness. Of course, I may not have noticed any minor nastiness directed toward McCain/Palin because I probably agree with it and it would be buried in a happy post. And I think you're my only friend who is not an Obama supporter! Don't you feel special?
no subject
I'm not happy because I can't see a positive end to this. One, Obama has been very, very light on the details of his 'change', and two, a lot of his statements seem very contradictory (for instance, lowering taxes and providing a lot more public assistance - the money has to come from somewhere. Also, he's promised to end the war in Iraq but go after and defeat the Taliban in Afghanistan... so it's not an end of war, just a change in battlegrounds?)
Even the news media has kinda mentioned that 'now that the election is over, maybe he'll elaborate on what he's actually planning on doing'. They're even admitting that, beyond the word 'change', there hasn't been a whole lot of substance in the 'how' arena. And in governement, 'how' is a very big deal.
I'm also concerned that (being cynical) when (okay, if, but given the state of the economy, I don't think anything but time can save it) he fails to turn the country around right away (yes, I know he's said it's going to be a hard road, but the extremists aren't hearing that) that they're going to end up blaming it on the fact that he's black. And that... that would be so very disappointing, and a huge step backwards for the country. I'm also nervous that if the worst should happen, and the wackos succeed, Biden will end up president and that will suck. Even the Democrat party has been slapping him down and shunning him for years...
no subject
Um, we still are at war in Afghanistan. So it's not a change in battlegrounds, just removing one. If that promise even comes true... I kind of doubt it.
Eek, do you really think they would blame his failures (which I'm sure he'll have!) on being black? That... would be incredibly disappointing. I'm, um, going to tell myself it won't happen.
no subject
Like I said, I'm older and much more cynical, and I can totally see that happening. If he fails, it's not the failure of a single man, but the failure of an entire race, and that would not be pretty. I, personally, and hoping for an obnoxiously uneventful next four years. That would make me very happy. The nasty, bigoted people in this country don't need anything else to fuel them on. :(
no subject
And I think you've handled this pretty amazingly well if people have been flaming you.
♥
no subject
It seemed (what I could briefly see yesterday) that it had calmed down - whether it's just people moving on, or the shock of the turn-around implied by his appointment of his WHCoS, I don't know. But I'm happy - or, I would be, if I could get off my butt and write more of my NaNo. It's just not flowing...
no subject
Yeah, he doesn't exactly seem to match the 'I-will-listen-to-everyone' part of Obama's speech. Or the 'change' part.
*sends your brain NaNo vibes*
no subject
no subject
I think the other half of my f-list made me feel a lot better. It was a 'the world keeps chugging along' feeling to see all the writing posted, the book reviews, and the craft projects. It did help to ground me a little, I think. So LJ is two-sided, and I guess I have to take the bad with the good. Though there are places I probably won't really comment much (not you! I haven't commented much at all lately, our internet at home was barely working yesterday *sigh* so I couldn't even catch up. Now, if I'd used that time to write my NaNo, I'd be in good shape. Instead, I fell asleep watching a football game...)