December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 10:17 am
...but I'm only worried about the school bond vote, really. I seriously hope it doesn't pass - it'll be the fourth or fifth school bond tacked on to my property tax, and enough is enough. This school district has more money than all the school districts in western Kansas combined, I think they have enough of my money. Something is seriously wrong when it costs more to send a kid to public school than to private school.

As for the big election, I figure it's a win/win/win/win game for me. If either guy wins, and the country gets better (for me, of course), I win for living in a better place, though there will be some admitting I was wrong. If either guy wins, and the country goes to hell, I at least get the moral justification of 'I told you so', even though I'll be living in crappy times. To be honest, the House and Senate are probably a lot more important (which have been controlled by the Democrats for awhile now, so if they don't take partial credit for the mess they're idiots - everyone gets an equal share in the blame).

And for everyone bemoaning the lack of choices (if you dislike both Obama and McCain) I would like to point out that I had six pairs of candidates to choose from on my ballot, plus there's the write-in option.

Oh! And all those people who stood in line for two hours for advanced voting (so they wouldn't have to wait in long lines on election day) THANK YOU! I didn't even have to wait in line at all today!

And a big Hallelujah to the end of the political campaigning! Let the accusations, conspiracy theories, and blaming begin!
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 04:43 pm (UTC)
I only waited an hour and a half last week. But my regular polling place only has two voting booths so I would have waited even longer today. So, you're welcome.
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 06:00 pm (UTC)
Wow, our polling pace had... eight? I think. I don't remember. But you have to admit, there's an irony to going early to wait in line to avoid waiting in line! I know some people did it just because they had time that day and worried they might not today, and I do appreciate that a lot of people are done and I didn't have to wait at all. Of course, my polling place is never busy, so either my neighborhood doesn't vote or they're all absentee/early voters.
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 06:17 pm (UTC)
I had an early meeting this morning and will likely have to work late. And since I had last Wednesday off, I figured that I may as well get it out of the way to make sure I got the chance to cast my vote.

Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 06:49 pm (UTC)
Yeah, I know a few people working 7 am to 7 pm today, and even though you have to be allowed time off from work, that's not realistic for people like teachers. Still, if I wasn't voting in person on election day I'd probably mail in a ballot. Eliminate the lines altogether!
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 04:59 pm (UTC)
I mailed in my vote, but let me tell you- there were lines, of people, of cars, BEFORE the polls opened here. Maybe it was just everyone wanting to do it before work, but wow.

I admit to being nervous, but not just nervous, just anxious with the anticipation, I want the day to be done, to know the answer, the outlook ahead.

Gods, I need distraction something fierce. And decaf. And a Gaiman book for lunchtime.
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 06:06 pm (UTC)
Yeah, there was a line at 6 am, apparently, but after that they're all pretty quiet. I think everyone tried to get it done before work.

I'm just sick of it all, and I'm serious when I say I don't care. I'm sick of the hate, the nasty remarks, the fact that people have been driven off LJ entirely and I've even been driven away from some of my friend's LJs because of the nasty, nasty, nasty comments. Nothing brings out the worst in people like politics. And I'm not talking about people who debate the issues, that's different. I can disagree with someone and still respect them. But some of the other things said... there's no call for that. None.

I'm torn on watching the returns. I don't think I want to because the news people are idiots (please, news people, don't 'call' a race with 1% reporting) so maybe I'll just pop in and check on the school bond vote before going to bed. I'm 90% sure Obama is going to win the presidential election, so at least all the scary people can put away their tin hats for another 4 years. Then I just get to listen to how it's still all the Republican's fault the country is screwed up for the next four years. *sigh*
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 06:09 pm (UTC)
Ohhhhh man, the election coverage when people found out how likely it was that the then-PM had lost not only his PMship but also his seat was so awesome.
Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 06:51 pm (UTC)
I am so very anti-media in general. They're all idiots, out to out-sensationalize each other. *grump* Thank goodness for cable TV - tonight I can immerse myself in the hunky goodness that is Mike Rowe and Dirty Jobs on Discovery - unless even they are running a ticker, then it's on to DVDs!
Wednesday, November 5th, 2008 02:33 am (UTC)
My flist is going to seem so empty without all the election news and musings and rants and Sim houses and so forth.
Wednesday, November 5th, 2008 05:06 am (UTC)
But now it'll be full of all the rude "good job America, we knew you wouldn't fuck it up again" posts from non-Americans!