Okay, maybe not. I get there, gape at the crowded waiting room, grab a ticket, and realize I didn't get the insurance card out of the Mustang. So (because that's what I drove, since I knew I needed to grab that, anyway) I trundle back out to the car and... there's no insurance card in there . Not even an old one! (Yay, me! 6 months spent driving around with no proof of insurance! Though there was a Home Depot delivery slip tucked in with my registration...) Cursing, I get in the car and drive home, thinking that at least I can print one off the website. Um, no, apparently not. Still, I have the new insurance cards (good starting Nov 15th) and both the old and new 'auto packet' that itemizes my insurance info. That has to be good, right? I mean, heck, that's more 'proof' than a stupid little card.
So I rush back to the DMV (40 minutes later, after taking the dog out and putzing about a bit) to find they haven't called my number yet, so no need for a new ticket. 10 minutes later I get called up to the window...
...and she doesn't even ask to see my insurance. I know it's a requirement. Unless they have it electronically or something. Still, I know if I'd sat there for 50 minutes and then realized it, I'd have needed it. Perhaps I burned more gas than I needed to (bit, frankly, at $2.19/gal that's not much of an issue for a 2-mile drive), but at least I wasn't stuck sitting and waiting forever. Whatever. Car tags are legal for another year.
Stay tuned today for the following exciting upcoming posts:
* Pictures! A few of my super-secret mission, though I don't have many. I don't know why I've not been very picture-y lately.
* A NaNo poll. You decide what I write! It will be kinda long, so I'll put that behind a cut. Still, I'd appreciate it being filled out.
* Whining and griping about how I haven't gotten anything done today and I don't want to go to work tomorrow! Okay, maybe that's not so exciting, but it's got a 67% probability of happening.
* Birthday loot gloating. :D
So I rush back to the DMV (40 minutes later, after taking the dog out and putzing about a bit) to find they haven't called my number yet, so no need for a new ticket. 10 minutes later I get called up to the window...
...and she doesn't even ask to see my insurance. I know it's a requirement. Unless they have it electronically or something. Still, I know if I'd sat there for 50 minutes and then realized it, I'd have needed it. Perhaps I burned more gas than I needed to (bit, frankly, at $2.19/gal that's not much of an issue for a 2-mile drive), but at least I wasn't stuck sitting and waiting forever. Whatever. Car tags are legal for another year.
Stay tuned today for the following exciting upcoming posts:
* Pictures! A few of my super-secret mission, though I don't have many. I don't know why I've not been very picture-y lately.
* A NaNo poll. You decide what I write! It will be kinda long, so I'll put that behind a cut. Still, I'd appreciate it being filled out.
* Whining and griping about how I haven't gotten anything done today and I don't want to go to work tomorrow! Okay, maybe that's not so exciting, but it's got a 67% probability of happening.
* Birthday loot gloating. :D
no subject
no subject
Seriously, I think you used up a year's worth of luck on that! I have NEVER seen our DMV with less than 50 people milling about.
And believe it or now, the person who waited on me at the DMV was very nice! Once I got up tot eh window it only took a minute, and she even (and not snottily) said 'have a nice day'!
no subject
no subject
I can't believe you had time to go home and come back, and they STILL hadn't called your number. I would have been pissed if I'd waited all that time and they didn't ask for it.
Where in Maryland did you head, out of curiosity?
no subject
I'd come prepared with a book, so I was expecting a wait. It's an uncomfortable place to sit, though, so I'm glad I didn't have to. Driving around was at least doing something.
I left out of Grasonville, over the *scary* bridge.