December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008 08:27 am
In an attempt to contain my *SQUEE* factor for the day I'll be focusing on a more serious topic today - driving. Specifically, how so few people seem to be able to do it these days.

But first I want to start out with a complaint that has a little to do with driving in that you need fuel to make the car go. While everyone was complaining about the price of gas being a reason they couldn't afford to fill up, I'm kept from filling up for another reason: lack of gas stations. That's right, my commute is somewhere on the order of 14 miles one way and I pass - wait for it - two gas stations. Both within a block or so from one another and both fairly inaccessible on my way home (wrong side of a divided road). Stopping on my way in isn't too bad, except it's early in the morning and I usually forget that I need gas. There's not even a convenient, close gas station to where I work! So now, not only do I get to pay a bundle for gas, I usually end up driving out of my way to get it!

Now, you might say, it's just your route. You can't expect to pass a lot of gas stations if you're traveling through subdivisions or on country roads. But no, I say - I'm driving down 45 mph arterials! There should be amenities! Then you point out my earlier rant about only having one grocery store on my way home as evidence of a crappy route choice. Fine, I say, but answer me this: why is it I pass 13 - yes, THIRTEEN - churches? I can't get food or gas, but I have plenty of choices for salvation! Additionally, I pass a small airport (it's fun when you time it just right and you look out your side window right at the nose of a plane coming in for a landing), a stable, a hospital, a library, and the Islamic Center of KC (not counted as one of the churches).

Anyone who can plot my route from work to home gets a Creepy Cute Crochet doll! But I warn you, it's just a little bit tricky. Or, I suppose, pretty easy if you know what to look for...

So, fueling troubles aside, there's plenty to rant about driving-wise. Like the guy in the battered blue pickup who was trying to kill me last night. He was behind me (there was room to go around me if he wanted) and kept fading back, then jamming down on the accelerator, roaring up behind me, and slamming on the brakes as he got really, really close to hitting me. And then the guy in front of me was turning, so I had to stop and the guy really did almost rear-end me. I saw him jerk forward as he stomped on his brakes. Idiot. It was not comforting that he already had a huge dent in his front bumper. Wonder how that got there.

Then, this morning, someone pulls out of the senior living center in front of me and decides - during morning commute time - to toodle down a 45 mph road at a blistering 25 mph.

One extreme to the other, neither should be driving. And the funny thing is that as much as I don't really like driving, I'm not bad. Typically I've very relaxed and easy-going, but also aware of my surroundings. Sure, I have my spacey moments (a few weeks ago I took a small highway part-way home and missed my exit, which really stinks when the next exit is 2 miles down the road!), but for the most part, I'm not too bad.

I want pneumatic transport tubes. And yes, I've said this long before Futurama came out, though it's a pretty good example of what I was thinking...
Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008 02:20 pm (UTC)
"Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?" - George Carlin
Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008 03:44 pm (UTC)
If you're going about the speed limit (which I do) that's very true!
Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008 03:23 pm (UTC)
Are the gas stations along your route closed, or were they never there to begin with?

There used to be a lot of gas stations near my neighborhood, but they keep closing. Taking the back road to my old high school is always kind of amusing/depressing because there's one station that's been closed for so long that the signs on the pumps still say "Unleaded $1.95" or something like that. I'm half tempted to pull over and take a picture next time, if it's still there.
Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008 03:46 pm (UTC)
There used to be three, but one (a Shell station that was horribly overpriced and right next to a Circle K, anyway) was torn down. I don't know if they're planning on rebuilding it or not. But other than that, there just have never been any others.

You should take a picture of it! Nostalgia, and all that. Of course, I remember when gas was under a dollar a gallon... ;)
Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008 05:08 pm (UTC)
There should be a simple test that goes out to drivers:

Do you think that tailgating someone at 85mph is ever a good idea?
1) Y
2) N
3) Well, no, but, well, in these circumstances... [please list them, oh aggrieved one]

If you answered 1 or 3, we will be taking your license.


And then there was the dude going 60mph in the fast lane on a 3-lane motorway, and the other two lanes were clear. The limit is 70mph. Fast lane, obviously, goes faster still. WHAT WERE YOU THINKING, SLOW MAN? WHAT WAS YOUR PLAN?