December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 09:22 am
(what am I going to do this fall without the library?!)

Why can’t I remember anything these days? Or, I suppose, the more correct question is why I can’t remember anything at a time when it would be convenient to do something about the thing I’m remembering? You know, some time other than when I’m driving to work and it’s too late to do anything about it?

Last night I started on my crocheted/felted tote bag project, but I’m not sure about it. I’m going to post a picture/question to the craft community later, I think. I did also finish my bright, obnoxious scarf. Yay! So even though I’ve bought two skeins of yarn this week, I’m still down two on the whole. I also started another scarf, so I’m back to having two on needles. Yay! Horsey still needs to be finished, though.

I also decided to yank out one of the blankets I started ages ago (I really don’t like the stitch) and to use that yarn and others to crochet an afghan in panels. Mr. Smeddley has a big afghan that’s sort of like that (I don’t know if it was done with multiple skeins at once or done in panels and sewn together, and I don’t know if I’ll do that or not). So I’m going to choose 4-5 interesting stitches and just go from there, maybe. Maybe. And I was thinking about using a bunch of the yarn I got at a garage sale to crochet a little rug, like for in front of the sink. There’s a pattern for one that uses white throughout and has color blocks, though the instructions say it’s to be crocheted in panels and sewn together, I figure I’ll do it all at once. Maybe I could kill two birds with one stone and make it a Tetris rug! The only problem with that is what if I run out of a particular color partway through a piece? Hmmm. We’ll see. I also have to knit some potholders to felt. And I do have a bunch of little prijects (pincushions, etc) to try. Man, if I ever did all that I’d be out of yarn in no time! Time to start hitting garage sales again…. <.< >.>

In serious news I’m torn on the whole pro-life pharmacy debate. Not on whether I think it’s a good idea – I think it’s asinine! – but on the whole ‘allowing it’ debate. Of course I think there should be a whole lot more birth control in the world, and I’d like to know what these people think we should do with all the resulting people if no one used birth control! Overpopulation is, in my opinion, one of the biggest problems we face. But I digress. There are two categories of pharmacists denying prescriptions – the ones that do it on their own in a business that normally supplies them, and those that work for/own a business that never supplies them. In the first situation, the pharmacist is completely out of line in denying a prescription. As one person gave an example, it’s like a vegetarian going to work for McDonalds and refusing to serve hamburgers. Completely unacceptable. The second case is a bit fuzzier.

Should the government step in and regulate what a store must sell? Well… no. That would be wrong. Stores should be able to supply whatever they feel their customer base wants – which is why we don’t have porn, guns and booze at Toys R Us. Even though I’m guessing being in that store for any amount of time might make you yearn for at least two of those… But anyway, it’s fine for a store to decide not to sell a particular item. We have vegetarian restaurants and places that don’t sell alcohol, book stores that don’t stock erotica and whatnot. The question, of course, is a pharmacy something different? Because it deals with needs, not wants, and is part of the health care system?

I’m not entirely sure you can say that. At the same time, where does the ‘moral’ dispensing of medication end? Is it okay to deny birth control pills, but not an antibiotic for an STD? And I do agree with a lot of people that refusing to stock condoms (which do not cause ‘abortions’ so they can’t say they’re denying them on those grounds, like they do for the pill… I think their justification is that they promote promiscuity) but dispensing Viagra is hypocritical. Really, really hypocritical. Because if it’s up to god’s will to either make me pregnant or not, then it should be god’s will that he’s flaccid. You can’t argue it both ways – ‘we’ll leave it in god’s hands to make a baby, except when Johnny needs a little help in the perky department!’ I’m sorry, NO.

Oh, and if you don’t see fit to fill a woman’s prescription? Under NO circumstances do you have the right to confiscate the prescription. You simply must hand it back and say ‘we can’t fill that here, try another pharmacy’. You cannot make any indication why, or humiliate the woman in front of other customers. That is completely unethical and should result in your license being revoked. There is a confidentiality issue – just like for doctors – for being a pharmacist.

And what about women who take the pill for reasons other than preventing pregnancy? What about women that run the risk of dying if they get pregnant? What is so ‘morally objectionable’ to having a tubal ligation or vasectomy? (Yes, they argue this is wrong, too) These people are idiotic and repulsive, and it makes me angry just thinking about it.

…yet they have the right to run their business any way they see fit. If I say they can’t complain about the nuddie bar or the sex shop… you see what I mean?

What I can do is never shop in a place like that. What I can do is encourage my insurance company not to cover prescriptions filled in those places (ha! who ever thought the insurance companies might be helpful with their restrictions?!). What I can do is tell people about it, report any unethical behavior and encourage others to do the same. What I can do is ask for there to be a law that requires these pharmacies to state up-front (through clear signage on their business) that they will not sell certain prescriptions.

And I can hope to hell with all of my heathen little heart that these people are sterile. Or all of my butt. It's bigger, anyway.
Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 03:34 pm (UTC)
Coming from a country where all pharmacies stock and dispense contraceptives, I completely support the idea of the government obliging pharmacies to do so. It's not a matter of personal taste or suiting the clientele -- it's different to that, and more important than that. It's a matter of health.

The idea of a shop stocking viagra but not condoms makes me want to froth.

Thursday, June 19th, 2008 12:26 am (UTC)
I felt pretty frothy, but stupid does that. It's when it doesn't do it that there's a problem!
Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 03:46 pm (UTC)
humiliate the woman in front of other customers. That is completely unethical and should result in your license being revoked.
oh my Gods, that makes me so many kinds of angry.

And I do agree with a lot of people that refusing to stock condoms (which do not cause ‘abortions’ so they can’t say they’re denying them on those grounds, like they do for the pill… I think their justification is that they promote promiscuity) but dispensing Viagra is hypocritical.
omg, the stupidity.

Or all of my butt. It's bigger, anyway.
hee.

personally, i think that all pharmacists should stock and supply birth control. it is their JOB to do it.

ok, wait, i'm not quite as certain on it as that sounds. because on the other hand, i do understand how some doctors have personal objections to abortions and will refer patients on [though part of me thinks that doctors should perform abortions anyway because it's their job too - you can pass judgement all you like on the inside but at the end of the day you stfu and do your job and what's right for the patient].

*ponders*
Thursday, June 19th, 2008 12:28 am (UTC)
It is a pondering thing - nothing is ever completely black and white. Doesn't mean we're not allowed to think these people are batshit insane, though!
Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 04:52 pm (UTC)
UGH that whole thing pisses me right the hell off. You've been very eloquent in this - said it better than I could. I just get mad and inarticulate. Hehe.
Thursday, June 19th, 2008 12:28 am (UTC)
Eh, I put off writing it for awhile, because otherwise I might have gone all capslock and insane. Because I just boggle at the idiocy!
Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 08:46 pm (UTC)
You summed it up well, I'd say. My other concern would be...what about people who live somewhere where there's only one pharmacy, and it refuses to sell birth control? Or an area where all the pharmacies refuse to?

Overall, I'm just happy I live in Canada.
Thursday, June 19th, 2008 12:31 am (UTC)
That is a good point a lot of other people made. I mean, I can't swing a dead cat without hitting a pharmacy, between the Walgreens and CVS and Target and Walmart and Price Chopper and Hen ... okay, I don't know if Hen House has a pharmacy. But anyway, there are dozens in a ten-fifteen mile radius. This isn't a small town, and I've never really lived in one, but I so think that should be considered in the equation.