December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Monday, June 9th, 2008 08:38 am
One more blurb about Lego Indiana Jones (I know you're all tired about hearing about it!). The little characters have three speeds - sneak, walk, and run. While the runs are all about the same, the first two differ from character to character. The German soldiers in 'walk' mode do the cutest little march. *march*march*march*march*march*

Okay, on to other news, and while it has to do with the price of gas, I'm not whining or anything. Yes, it's *almost* $4/gal here. And I don't know if you remember, but I did a post awhile back trying to figure out when it would be worth buying something like a hybrid - at what price per gallon do it become worth it? I think I said at $7-$8 per gallon, but I don't know where I was getting those numbers (I did some math at the time, but early-morning figuring is always suspect - so this is as well). Because I did a quick re-calculate, and it turns out it's never worth it.

I don't really want a Prius. I want (at the moment) a Mini Cooper. Which does get 28 mpg, slightly better than my 20 mpg Mustang (which is only supposed to get 17, but I guess I drive like a little old lady). So I did a spreadsheet that figured my cost of gas based on driving 750 miles per month (560 to work and back, plus a bit thrown in). Given the age and mileage on my car, this is about right. In my car, that's 37.5 gallons of gas. At, say, $10/gallon that's $375. The Prius, on the other hand, only needs 15.6 gallons to go the same distance. At $10/gallon that's $156. BUT! At $24,000 and with an interest rate of almost 7% for new cars right now, you're paying $574/mo in car payments. So now it's $375 v. $$730.

My yearned-after Cooper doesn't fair much better. It takes 26.8 gallons and has a price tag of $19,000, giving me a $10/gallon monthly cost of $718. So I'm afraid the price of gas is absolutely no reason to buy a new car. *sniffle* And here I thought I'd found a reason (though nothing justifies the cars I *really* want, since they get complete crap gas mileage and cost a fortune). Hang in there, Mustang!

Other price-comparison cars were the Elantra ($663), the Yaris ($593), and the Accent ($565).

But! You say - the Prius, after the car payments, will continue to get better gas mileage. Yes, that is true. And the Mustang, as much as I wish it might, won't last forever. So when I do get a new car... well, if it's 4 or 5 years from now I don't know what'll be on the market. So it's hard to say. But is it worth getting the Prius over its next contender - the Yaris or the Accent? (And, yes, I consider these to be the 'comparable' cars to a Prius. They're roughly the same size and style.) They're cheap and get decent gas mileage.

In four years - at $10/gallon! - I'd pay $7,920 more to own the Prius than the Accent ($11,434 at $4/gal), and $6,576 more to own the Prius than the Yaris ($9,514 at $4/gal). Without the car payment (and again, at $10/gal), the savings of the Prius are $122/mo over the Accent and $102/mo over the Yaris. So in 64 additional months, I'd break even on both the Accent and the Yaris. That's 5 years. At which point the cars are 9 years old, and most people (though not I) will replace them anyway. But what if gas stays at about $4/gal? Then the savings after the car payments are over are only $49 (Accent) or $41 (Yaris), and it takes and additional 234 months (Accent) or 233 months (Yaris) just to break even. So... when the cars are 23 years old, I'll have broken even on cost.

Obviously, these are my numbers based on my driving. If I upped the mileage (at 2,000 miles/mo and $10/gallon I'd immediately save $30/mo with the Prius over the Accent, but at $4/gallon I still have to wait 17 years to start saving money) it would have an effect.

Am I doing something wrong here? I feel like my numbers are right! But that seems... why would anyone, given these numbers, buy a hybrid? (Yes, there's the saving the environment bit, which is great, but everyone I know who got one bought it it *save money*. There's a difference between the people that have plenty of money and buy it to save the earth, and those who are upset about the cost of gas and are trying to save money. And note that the 'saving the earth' bit applies ONLY to the Prius - there are plenty of cars out there that get way better gas mileage than the hybrid SUVs, so if you were serious about saving the planet you'd get a smaller car. No one *needs* an SUV. No, really, you don't.)

*sigh* I want a new car. Just... without the car payments, increased taxes and higher insurance. Surely that's not too much to ask for?
Monday, June 9th, 2008 02:04 pm (UTC)
Yes, it's *almost* $4/gal here.

If I'm doing my maths correctly, it's about $10/gal here. (1 litre = £1.18. 1 gal = 4.5 litres.)

LOL, british petrol tax.

Monday, June 9th, 2008 02:19 pm (UTC)
Between the cost of gas and the congestion charges and the nine million other taxes you guys pay, I don't know how anyone in England affords to drive.

There are times I wish I lived somewhere with a decent actual mass transit system, but alas, this is not the place. I'd ride a bus or tram is it was reasonably economical and timely. But I'd be better off walking to work (all 14 miles) than trying to ride the bus.
Edited 2008-06-09 02:20 pm (UTC)
Monday, June 9th, 2008 05:31 pm (UTC)
I used to get the train to work. But it works out cheaper and mostly more convenient time-wise for me to drive.

We have heavy road taxes to discourage driving. An attitude I heartily support. Except that it'd be useful if our public transport system was cheaper than driving and efficient. >=(
Monday, June 9th, 2008 07:37 pm (UTC)
Yeah, I know the feeling. It'd be ridiculous for me to try to take the bus for so many reasons, because none really run from my house to work. Not only would I have to walk about a mile on either end, but I'd have two connections that are a minute apart (how often would I miss those?!) and I'd spend between 3 and 3 1/2 hours on the bus *each way*. And they only run during certain times, so I could only work from 10-2. Not likely!
Monday, June 9th, 2008 02:44 pm (UTC)
I completely hear you. After paying almost fifty for a tank of gas in economical little matrix I'm fighting the urge to get a prius, except I just paid this car off.

Three weeks ago gas was $3.89 at the local Arco. This morning, it was $4.43. Welcome to So Cal.
Monday, June 9th, 2008 03:01 pm (UTC)
I don't really want a Prius, though. They're tiny and... they have 74 hp. :( I know, I want the best of both worlds! Nothing beats a paid-off car, though. I'm hoping for something amazing by the time it's actually time to buy a new car!

(Also, I need to go back and respond to your latest post - I was reading it last night but the weather turned nasty - surprise, surprise, more thunderstorms! - so I turned my computer off. Just wanted to say I will, when I get home!)
Monday, June 9th, 2008 03:12 pm (UTC)
I have what amounts to a modern station waggon, which is great when we get stuff from Ikea, or move. But the rest of the time I'd be quite happy with a small car. Eh, give it five years and the battery tech will be much better. The husband was telling me about a new all electric sports car that just came out. Too expensive now, but in a few years they'll expand the line, be better tech, and be cheaper. I think it's called a Tesla.

(Sok. I miss thundershowers sometimes. But the having to turn the computer off part bites.)
Monday, June 9th, 2008 07:41 pm (UTC)
Yeah, I'm figuring that the technology is going to improve by leaps and bounds the next few years (especially if the price of gas stays high!) and I'm much better off waiting and getting a second or third generation hybrid. And hopefully my car will last that long!

Yeah, there are days I would kill for a car that can haul anything! My trunk is... not very user-friendly. It's not that terrible small inside, but the opening is weird. So you can stuff a ton of things in it if they're small or smooshable (like bags of clothes), but try to stuff a book box in there and you're SOL. I miss my hatchback Rabbit!
Monday, June 9th, 2008 05:29 pm (UTC)
Yeah, going out and buying a car just to save money seems a little off. If you were already planning on buying a car and made your final selection based on gas prices, that I'd understand. But it seems like some folks are going out and getting hybrids just because they hear about all the money they'll save at the pump, and it doesn't even cross their minds that they have to pay for the car itself.

No one *needs* an SUV. No, really, you don't.

THANK YOU. I've known a few people who insisted that they absolutely could not fit their family into a regular car. How many children did they have? TWO. Ridiculous.

No one who owns an SUV has any right to complain about gas prices. (Well, I'm for free speech so I guess they do... but they don't have the right to not get slapped afterwards.) 99% of the time, the people who buy those things do so because they are a big, shiny status symbol. You want to prove you've got money to burn, then don't cry about it when your cash actually does go up in smoke.
Monday, June 9th, 2008 07:47 pm (UTC)
Yeah, I think the whole paying for the car thing is lost on most people. Or maybe car payments are such a way of life they get ignored? I dunno.

Oh, and especially if those SUV people are slurping down a $5 coffee? Yeah, no, I'm not feeling sorry for you about the gas prices. People really need to learn the difference between 'want' and 'need'. And understand that occassionally, yes, you need to make sacrifices.

Not that I don't want a show-off status symbol car. ;) But if I could afford that, I certainly wouldn't care about the price of gas!