December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Monday, May 26th, 2008 06:31 pm
Vista sucks. Really, really, really sucks.

When I copied all those file over to my external hard drive on my XP machine, it was no problem. Just drag and drop. But now? Now it keeps telling me I'm out of memory. Despite now having twice as much memory as before.

So now the next few hours are going to be dedicated to moving all my files over in tiny tiny tiny chunks because Microsoft is the devil.

OH! And did I mention restarting every time it tells me my memory is full? How freakin' irritating. I don't know if there's any other way to free up the memory.

*sigh*
Tuesday, May 27th, 2008 02:09 am (UTC)
Sounds like you have a virus/worm/unnecessary program that the computer manufacturer thought you should absolutely have because the software vendor paid them big bucks to install it...

Or something...
Tuesday, May 27th, 2008 03:57 am (UTC)
"unnecessary program"

...would that be Vista? :P
Tuesday, May 27th, 2008 01:19 pm (UTC)
Not sarcastically (for a change), I think you are right. I believe I recall hearing about Vista giving memory errors when copying files when it first came out. Have you checked for system updates?

(Sorry if I'm a little fuzzy on this one. I'm steering clear of Vista for as long as possible)
Tuesday, May 27th, 2008 03:32 pm (UTC)
I wanted to avoid Vista, but my old machine was acting up and you can't buy a new one that doesn't come with Vista anymore. :(

I admit I like the sidebar. The rest of the changes SUCK DEAD BUNNIES THROUGH A GARDEN HOSE.