December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Friday, May 16th, 2008 08:47 am
Yesterday I was prepared to make a whole long post about how crappy the day was. How everything - from the gas station not having lids to the coffee cups, to the scanner at work giving me problems, to not being able to find anything I was looking for at the store - was going wrong. And this was only lunchtime! Don't worry, I was going to at least put a sarcastically humorous spin on it (looking for that dratted silver lining), but it was still going to be whiny.

Then I went to the bathroom and found one of my co-workers crying. Now, she's in a department where they are also implementing all sorts of new software, and it's not going well. But on top of that, she told me she's also getting a divorce. She's 24. And, as trite as it sounds, I realized that I really should make more fun of my problems (like the fact that the IT guys insist on putting those three internet shortcut icons on my desktop every freakin' time I start my computer. I don't want them there. I don't need them there. That's what bookmarks are for. It ruins my symmetry and they're ugly, unchange-able icons, too. So every time I start my computer, I delete them. I wonder how much time every year I've spent deleting those same icons?) because they aren't that bad. Just annoying.

...and boy way I annoyed. PSG (parking space guy) has one other habit, and that's turning off lights in empty rooms. Which is fine and good, I suppose, but when I'm running back and forth from my computer plotting things, it is annoying to have to turn on the light each time. Well, yesterday he picked a bad day to try to be funny with me. He turned off the light while I was in the room, trying to feed papers into the scanner (and failing, hence my bad mood). I turned on him and said, "You really don't want to f--- with me today." Which is really funny, considering I don't swear much at all, and when I do it's usually the lesser of the swear words. I'm the kind of person people apologize for swearing in front of! Anyway, I think it threw him for a loop, because he tried to make polite chit-chat for a second, and when I simply continued to glare at him he beat a hasty retreat.

But don't feel sorry for him, later that day he pulled another co-worker aside (another one who's razzing him about his parking space issues) to show her that he'd measured (on Google) the distance and his parking space is 20 feet closer than the other area. A-yup. And again, he moved his work truck to 'save' his spot last night. Maybe I should be the one backing away slowly...

Anyway, after a miserable day I went home and spend 3+ hours happily playing Lego Star Wars with Mr. Smeddley. We're almost done collecting all the blue canisters, which means almost done with the whole game. We have a few of those and the superstories to play, and that's it. Woe. Lego Indiana Jones cannot come soon enough. And I had a wonderful time, and blah blah blah wonderful life, great husband, blah blah blah.

He did send me to bed after he said I got a bit slap-happy (sleep deprivation, I was ready to drop the minute I got home if you want to know the truth!). We were in the Cantina (um, yeah, in the game) and he was a droid and I was a Jedi ghost. And I kept using the force on him to knock him out of commission and yelling, "Yeah, how do you like that?" Juvenile, but really funny at the time. I really did need to go to sleep...

Tonight we have to get the old stove out to prepare for the delivery of the new one, so probably not a whole lot of posting will be going on until then (after work, naturally). I will post pictures of my shiny new stove, because I know you are all sooooooo interested, right? :D Off to a meeting...
Friday, May 16th, 2008 01:57 pm (UTC)
At least PSG measured it on Google maps/Earth and NOT actually using a tape to do it. I don't see his obsession... I'm the person that parks far away in the parking lot 'cuz I know there is something there.

One more hour and I'm outta here. YAY!
Edited 2008-05-16 01:58 pm (UTC)
Saturday, May 17th, 2008 12:08 am (UTC)
It actually surprised me that he didn't use the wheel (we have it for measuring lane widths and curb lengths - not terribly accurate, but ballpark). The only days our parking lot is full are court days, but it usually doesn't fill up until 9-ish, and we're all pretty much there by then. I did once make the mistake of making a doctor's appointment for Wednesday morning and didn't get in until 10 - never again! I had to vulture for a spot. :/
Friday, May 16th, 2008 03:54 pm (UTC)
Did he specify why it is that he feels he deserves those amazing 20 feet and no one else does?
Saturday, May 17th, 2008 12:11 am (UTC)
There are... I think 6 spaces in that row. He gets the end one, another guy gets the other end one, and the girl I was talking to takes one. The others, I think, go to the people that work on the lower level.

The funny thing is, that 20 feet is 'as the crow flies'. There's no sidewalk going directly from that area to the side door, so you have to walk uphill through the grass. Which is damp 90% if the time. And it's actually further is you walk around and stay out of the grass!

...I'm totally going to have to post a drawing of it on Monday. I think we have a survey of the parking lot from a few years ago... :D
Friday, May 16th, 2008 05:22 pm (UTC)
PSG is crazy. He needs help, srsly. Professional padded room help.

*hugs you*
Saturday, May 17th, 2008 12:11 am (UTC)
I work with a lot of crazy people. He seems more harmless than Wandering Staring Guy (WSG), at least...