I have so many things to do it's overwhelming. I make lists, then ignore them. If only accomplishing the tasks were as easy as making the lists. Then I'd be in business.
I took the week of Memorial Day off - no vacation plans, just want to putter about the house and get stuff done. Maybe if I can get some of those things that have been hanging over my head finished I'll feel less stressed. Especially my office. I really, really, really need to clean that. And upholster that couch. And build the storage in the closet. ARGH! See? Just so much stuff. And I am so unmotivated.
Unfortunately,hubby you know, I really don't like that word. It sounds too... cutesy. Like all those Flylady disciples with their 'DH' and whatnot. I've thought about breaking down and just using his name, but that seems like an invasion of his privacy. Especially with the whole job-linked-to-online-life stuff of late. I could use his LJ name (I'm betting most of you know who he is, anyway). Or I could just refer to him as 'He Who Must Not Be Named', which is kinda appropriate, given that he's evil and yet never seems to do anything (I kid, I kid, I know you cleaned the kitchen the other night). ;) Or I could come up with a nickname, like
aeamek does with his officemates. But I'm not good at nicknames. So I dunno. What do you all think? I might talk about him more were this issue resolved, I think. Which may or may not be a good thing.
Anywho, he's off that week as well (between semesters) and I'd thought we were going to tackle the backyard, but he has it in his mind that we're putting that off until next year - at least the bulk of it, the area around the grapevines. Weather, as well as motivation, will also play a part in that. So maybe that's a wait-and-see proposition. And I tend to do less when he's around... I think inertia is contagious. So it might be a wasted week if I accomplish nothing. But here's hoping.
Also got a new digital camera (fit-in-my-purse size) this weekend, I've wanted on forever and finally took the plunge on a Canon Elph SD750. Not top-of-the-line, but not top-of-the-price, either. So there may be more daily action shots coming to my blog soon! I just need to make a little case to carry it in. *adds to list*
Oh! The other thing I was going to say about taking Memorial Day week off is that at least it's before Lego Indiana Jones comes out. Otherwise, I can guarantee I'd get nothing done!
I took the week of Memorial Day off - no vacation plans, just want to putter about the house and get stuff done. Maybe if I can get some of those things that have been hanging over my head finished I'll feel less stressed. Especially my office. I really, really, really need to clean that. And upholster that couch. And build the storage in the closet. ARGH! See? Just so much stuff. And I am so unmotivated.
Unfortunately,
Anywho, he's off that week as well (between semesters) and I'd thought we were going to tackle the backyard, but he has it in his mind that we're putting that off until next year - at least the bulk of it, the area around the grapevines. Weather, as well as motivation, will also play a part in that. So maybe that's a wait-and-see proposition. And I tend to do less when he's around... I think inertia is contagious. So it might be a wasted week if I accomplish nothing. But here's hoping.
Also got a new digital camera (fit-in-my-purse size) this weekend, I've wanted on forever and finally took the plunge on a Canon Elph SD750. Not top-of-the-line, but not top-of-the-price, either. So there may be more daily action shots coming to my blog soon! I just need to make a little case to carry it in. *adds to list*
Oh! The other thing I was going to say about taking Memorial Day week off is that at least it's before Lego Indiana Jones comes out. Otherwise, I can guarantee I'd get nothing done!
no subject
I wish I had enough vacation time that I could take that week off, but what with all the Ted visits, and the fact that I still only get 15 days, I'm all out of vacay. *sigh*
no subject
Currently I get 15 day/year of vacation, but come November (my 10-year anniversary!) it will be 20. Yipppeee! One of the reasons I'd have a hard time seriously considering leaving here, unless it was for a LOT more money.
But hey, at least your vacation time is well spent!
no subject
no subject
Call him...
(p.s. - I had no idea your Woogie was on LJ. I would say something about friending here, but I don't want it to be a big whine)
Re: Call him...
no subject
no subject
no subject
I dislike the word hubby as well. It's too tabloidy.
no subject
Interesting fact: number of typos in that previous sentence first time 'round, 3.
no subject
no subject
no subject
*GAG*
no subject
I have a couch I'd also like to recover. But I haven't even got far enough to really plan when. It's an old couch, but comfy, and I'm considering just using canvas drop clothes instead of upholstery material.
no subject
I've re-upholstered a few things, it's mostly that I need to clear the time for it - I even have the fabric! It's just buckling down and doing it. You know, just like all the other tasks I have to do... :/
no subject
I guess I didn't realize that he read your LJ either... *waves*
I'm all for more photos. In fact, I should also get back to taking and posting just everyday sort of photos in my blog too. Those Elphs are pretty sleek. I'm more than a little desperate for a digital SLR however.
no subject
We have two digital Canon SLRs, they're just not exactly convenient to carry around! They are great for going to the arboretum, zoo, or ball game!