December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Thursday, May 8th, 2008 07:12 am
There's a Woot-off going on!

And I have to go to a seminar, with no access to a computer all day. Ah, well. Y'all Woot for me, 'kay?

In other news, I may have solved the question about why I've been such a bad LJ friend of late. Sure, I post (thank you e-mail posting!) from work, but I'm not so great at responding to posts (though I do read each and every one of them!) or even, of late, comments. And it's because it's difficult to do using the reader I have to cheat my way onto LJ at work. Don't get me wrong, I love it to pieces, but it has no copy-paste, no spell check, and sometimes it's tough to follow long threads. Mostly it's the spell-check thing. With the combination of my bad typing and horrid spelling, seeing un-retouched comments by me might cause seizures, nausea, and uncontrolled twitching. And I wouldn't want to do that to anyone.

So why am I not, at least, doing it once I get home? Sure, for awhile Lego Star Wars was the reason, but now we've worked through just about everything (we still have some blue cannister runs, but we got all the gold bricks - boy, was that a gyp!) and it no longer has the hold it did.. In June Lego Indiana Jones will probably be the reason, but what about now?

It's my monitor at home. It buzzes. Not all the time, but when it does, it drives me up the wall. I actually smacked it last night, and that's not like me. I have it tied up and wedged with cardboard chunks, and sometimes I can stop the buzzing. But most times it is so annoying I can't handle it, and switch off the computer in disgust (have I mentioned how sensitive to noise I am?). It's not doing it at the moment, which gives me false hope. But I have to face it - either I'm going to avoid the computer because of the monitor or eventually I'm going to chuck it through the window. Either way, it'd be more economical to just go out and buy a new monitor. Because I'll either be wasting the money on my computer and my computer games, or eventually I'll have to buy both a new monitor and a new window. So this weekend, more money to spend. I think I can get a decent one for $400 or so (yes, now I *have* to have a widescreen one!).

And this way, when I try to sell our two old computers (they're each like a year old - ancient in the computing world!) they'll both have monitors with them!

Off to the seminar, try not to have too much fun without me today. :(
Thursday, May 8th, 2008 02:33 pm (UTC)
I have no idea what a "Woot-off" is, but I will woot for you regardless.

Don't forget Lego Batman coming out in the Fall!
Saturday, May 10th, 2008 08:55 pm (UTC)
On Woot.com! You've not done a Woot-off? Horridly time-wasting, but strangely addictive...

I don't know how I feel about Lego Batman. I think we'll have to see. Since I was never a big batman fans... *ducks*
Thursday, May 8th, 2008 08:08 pm (UTC)
Yes, avoiding monitors through windows may be for the best...

Have fun at your seminar!
Saturday, May 10th, 2008 08:56 pm (UTC)
Oh, it was joyous! :p And I now have a new monitor, it doesn't buzz or anything! I am happy. Sadly, I also have a lot of housework I really need to get done, so it'll be awhile before I can play my games... :( Also, I need to get rid of my headache... Boo.
Saturday, May 10th, 2008 10:59 am (UTC)
*hugs*

I like it when you're available, and I have other friends for when you're not.
Saturday, May 10th, 2008 11:00 am (UTC)
Did that come across as incredibly self-absorbed and callous? I was aiming for 'reassuring', but I look at it and I think "what asshole wrote THAT comment?"
Saturday, May 10th, 2008 09:04 pm (UTC)
No, no, not all. I took it as, 'You're great to have around, but don't sweat it when you can't - it's not like the world is going to fall apart or anything if you miss a few day, that's what having a wide circle of friends is good for. So don't feel pressure, I'll just hand out with these chaps and whenever you want to pop 'round it's all good.'

And I like that, but that goes back to a discussion I had with someone else about how I don't want to be needed. The idea of someone needing me is incredibly uncomfortable. It makes me nervous. That's a lot of responsibility! I know the dog needs me, but her needs are simple (let me out, get me food) so that's okay. But the idea of another person being physically or emotionally dependent on me is scary. This may be a failing with me, a shirking of responsibility, but that's that. However, I do want to be wanted. I want to be something that makes life nicer, but is not necessary to life itself. The original conversation used household appliances as metaphors, and I said I wanted to be the cappuccino machine. Even a caffeine addict like myself (who, I will argue, needs coffee) can make due with a coffee maker. But a cappuccino machine is a luxury, maybe even one you're willing to sacrifice something else to have. That's what I want. At least in a serious, love-life kinda relationship.

I guess for more casual friends I want to be the cardboard sleeve around the coffee shop cup - it makes things move comfortable (in not burning your hand) but is really such a silly little thing!
Sunday, May 11th, 2008 03:42 am (UTC)
Glad you received it as intended. And I'm right there with you on the 'need vs want' thing. I've been needed, and I reached a point where I realised that the reason we were together was because of the things that I did, and not the person that I was.

It's much more affirming to be wanted than to be needed.
Monday, May 12th, 2008 04:37 am (UTC)
Hmmm. Very interesting self-analysis! Love the analogies in particular.

I think I struggle, in particular in family relationships, as the oldest sib/mom that needs to fulfill everyone else's needs, even when they don't expect me to. Which then leads to them expecting me to, which makes me feel horribly guilty when I haven't gone out of my way for them, or if I feel like I've let them down at all.
Monday, May 12th, 2008 04:40 am (UTC)
I'm with you on the buzzing!! I had fluorescent lights in an office once that absolutely drove me mad. I had to insist something be done, which was difficult, because most people couldn't even hear it even when they tried. It was like torture on my brain though... I have issues with being able to sensory gate white noise sounds.