December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Friday, March 28th, 2008 07:40 am
So the internet is out again. I had it for a whole, glorious hour last night, and a whopping 15 minutes this morning. Last night I was able to check my mail, skim through my f-list, and get sucked into both 'that's not bread' wank and a very scary wank/rant diatribe about feminism (seriously, as one commenter put it, even the lunatic fringe was looking at this and backing away slowly!). Both available for your reading pleasure from JournalFen (otf_wank and fandom_wank, respectively). This morning I again had time to check my mail, see that the Woot-Off was still going on (yeah, missed most of that last night), and take a quick peek at my f-list and then *bam* it was gone.

So I called their 24-hour service line, and they initially tried to tell me it had to be my modem. Which is complete and utter crap, of course. And I told them that, of course. This is the same things that happened the weekend of the NFL playoffs (first round). They kept telling me it had to be something to do with our equipment and our house, and come to find out later one of the main lines was bad. They fixed that, and it'd been fine since... until now. They say they're sending someone on Sunday. *le sigh*

That means I may be without internet access for two whole days! How will I survive? *wibble* And is this an excuse to nip over to T-Mobile and get a Sidekick and Internet service? It wouldn't be everything, but at least I could get my e-mail! I do have to say that if I ever do decide to sell anything through Etsy I'm definitely doing that, because you then have a responsibility to respond in a timely manner, and with the sketchiness of our service of late, well...

I do admit to feeling the need to shop right now. Retail therapy and all that. And I know that's not good, I shouldn't just spend money. Especially since the things I want to buy aren't cheap. Yesterday's 'splurge' on a skein of yarn from Wal-Mart (though it wasn't yarn Wal-Mart sells, interestingly enough, it was sock-weight yarn, someone returned it there but I'm positive they didn't buy it there!) for $1 is no big deal (except the obvious, setting me back further on the whole 'use up my yarn' deal). But buying an internet phone and service? Yeah, big deal. Or a little PHD digital camera I can carry in my purse? $120-$190 is probably a bit much to blow. More bookcases and a couch for downstairs? Money I don't need to spend, unless I want to give up on the idea of getting the new stove (c'mon, tax refund!). A new car? Hmmmm....

Cars have much been on my mind of late. I don't think you have to worry about me going out and buying a new one, because I don't know what I'd buy. Certainly nothing in my price range jumps out at me and goes 'I'm perfect for you!'. According to the news today, 67% of Americans think their cars have personalities. I admit I thought that of the Blue Bomb (a 1972 Toyota Corona that had an attitude like an angry badger) and maybe a little of the Bunny (a 1980-something Volkswagen Rabbit). But the Sentra (1993, no cute name), the Mustang (1998, no cute name) and the Hyundai (2004, mine for a brief month, no cute name)? Not so much. I like a lot of things about the Mustang - its stereo system is nice, it has an industrial-grade climate control system, and it's comfortable enough for short trips (it does suck on long road trips, though) - but it has no personality and I'm not that attached to it (that's not to say I want anything to go wrong with it!).

Of them all, in a way, the Bomb was my favorite. My mom bought it for $400 and drove it for a year or so before handing it down to me. It was rusty and we covered it to splotches of blue spray paint that didn't quite match... okay, they didn't match at all. It was the pickiest car, harder than hell to drive. But it definitely had personality. Plus, I never had to worry about it. Who cares about door dings in a car like that? And it's not like anyone would want to steal it! Even if they tried, most people who didn't know it couldn't get it further than a block (yes, it was that finicky). I guess when the Sentra got old it developed some personality... the tape deck would only rewind in one direction and the like, but it wasn't the same. And perhaps I should be grateful that the Mustang is so cold and impersonal - because it means it's working just fine. Even if I can't name it.

I do kinda want a car like the Bomb back, only... uniformly painted and more reliable. But that old-fashioned Columbo-looking car type. The closest there is now is probably the Mini Cooper, but it's not quite right. A Bug? I guess were I trying to traverse Botswana, that would be the car I wanted... but I'm not sure that's a right fit, either (the new Rabbits are right out). The other cars I can see me getting (Subaru Outback, Hyundai Santa Fe, etc) would be functional but again, not a personality fit. Not enough to name them, for sure. I just don't know what car is *me*. (Please say Bugatti Veyron... please say Bugatti Veyron... sure, I have $1.7M to dump on a car! But seriously, 0-150 mph in 9.8 seconds?!)

So what car is me? Granted, I probably won't buy one for another 4 years or so (assuming the Mustang holds up), but I'd like to figure out what *kind* of car I should be looking for!

Also, did my DVR totally not record Lost last night?! :/ Was it on?
Friday, March 28th, 2008 12:53 pm (UTC)
Lost is on hiatus until April 24th, when it comes back in a 10pm time slot. This new time slot sucks, btw.
Friday, March 28th, 2008 02:11 pm (UTC)
Ha! More proof that the universe is out to get me. I *JUST* caught up! :/ And the last episode was bleech. I'm so over Walt and Michael, I don't even care. Bah.
Friday, March 28th, 2008 01:19 pm (UTC)
Stupid internet people. They were always telling me it was my equipment too, until they figured out it was the stupid outside cable power levels that they had to adjust. After umpteen zillion visits. Idiots, I swear.

And the car talk, it goes right over my head ...
Friday, March 28th, 2008 02:13 pm (UTC)
I know! They always want to foist the blame off on you, because it just *can't* be their fault, now, can it? ARGH! This is January all over again. All I can say is I deserve some seriously good karma after the last few weeks...
Friday, March 28th, 2008 02:22 pm (UTC)
I so know the feeling. *heaps sympathy on you*

Force them to check the outside lines. Don't go through all the balderdash again.
Friday, March 28th, 2008 01:54 pm (UTC)
You are dropping clues all over the place!!!

Since the accident I feel more bonded with my car, given all the concern I had about it. It may end up getting called 'Cookie' as every time I say or think of the word Milan, I can't help to immediately think of Milano cookies.

All weekend without an internet connection? Ugh. Between that and work, it's like the world is out to isolate you.

Friday, March 28th, 2008 02:15 pm (UTC)
Yeah, I do give out clues, which are probably a lot more obvious once you know the answers, but still. I figure it's the least I can do! I did make some of them kinda hard...

Mmmmm, cookies... now I'm hungry, and I'm supposed to start watching what I eat! Yup, watch that cookie disappear... ;)
Friday, March 28th, 2008 02:39 pm (UTC)
VW Thing. Find it, marry it, have kids with it. It is the ultimate car and if more were made I firmly believe we'd have no war, no corruption, and everyone would get laid every day (except on thursday because that's just weird).
Friday, March 28th, 2008 03:52 pm (UTC)
Bummer on the no internet thing! I'm dreading the day they block LJ here at work. :/
Saturday, March 29th, 2008 06:03 am (UTC)
i totally anthropomorphize my vehicles.
my current truck (cherokee) is a definte female and she's got my back.
my last truck (GMC) was all male and we battled like the dickens.
before that i had a convertable GEO Tracker that was called the Milleneum Falcon because it was like driving in a shuddering windtunnel when i went over 55 mph.
lol.
i miss that car.

i think i get it from my dad.
every car he has ever owned was christend "betsy".
and he always talked to her when we drove around in it.
lol.
he still does that. and he's on his sixth or seventh Betsy at the moment...
lol