Wednesday, March 26th, 2008 08:55 pm
I demand a do-over. Of the last two weeks.

Or maybe not, because there’s no guarantee that it wouldn’t suck even more. Because as crappy as it’s been, I have no doubt it could have been worse. I mean, I haven’t killed anyone yet, so there’s at least one plus, since I won’t be spending the rest of my life in jail.

It seems for every bright side there’s an even bigger down side. For instance: there is a pretty vase of cut daffodils on my kitchen counter. Perky and yellow, the harbingers of spring. Which are lovely except…

…those flowers come from the middle of my lawn, because I didn’t dig up all of the bulbs. And they multiplied. And came up through my nice, green sod. So they need to be dug up… as soon as the weather warms up. Though I suppose they are hope spring is actually on its way, because not only the flowers are back…

…the ants are back. Every time I spray one baseboard section they start streaming in somewhere else. Ugh. Now I have a nose full of Raid, which is compounding…

…this stupid cold. Going on day nine and I still feel like I’m about to choke on my own mucus. Nice, eh? And I still sound hoarse, though it is getting a lot better. Just not fast enough. On the up side I did make an appointment for allergy testing, I go in Monday afternoon. I meant to make the appointment…

…but it’s been so irritatingly busy at work. I’ve hardly had time to breath between the whole people being gone and having to deal with the temp and help at the counter, finishing up two sets of plans, and sending out the mailings…

…which has resulted in tons and tons of phone calls. Including the one today which marked only the second time in nearly ten years that I hung up on someone. I only put up with so much abuse, and I dealt with the trashing of the city/government, and the generally insinuations that we don’t know what we’re doing. I also let the swearing slide. But calling me a half-wit? Yeah, that was the last straw. Which put me in a really bad mood and I then found out I had to interview someone…

…that I thought was scheduled for Monday. So I stayed late on Monday, totally wasting my time, which is always annoying. Then the time I was planning on having to listen to the end of my book on tape today was taken up by the interview (and I ended up staying a little late). So I didn’t go to the library to drop off that and my book, which was due today, but that’s not a big deal since I can just renew it online…

…if the internet was working. Which it’s not. Again. And I really could have used a good surf today, to relax and all that. I was too busy to check all day (didn’t even take a lunch) and was really looking forward to catching up. It’s been out since I got home (almost two hours now) and I did call them right when I found out it wasn’t working. They said there was some service being done on my node…

…but for this long? Really? And is it ever going to come back so you all can all read my whining? ~Okay, obviously it has or I wouldn't be posting this, but now it's nearly bedtime and I barely have time to skim through my f-page and no real time to comment, if I want to avoid staying up to late (again) and oversleeping (again).

In other news, I finished watching all the back episodes of Lost. Still confused. Still wondering what the hell they’re going to do to explain it all. Though I came up with one ending…

I’m not sure I can believe they’d be that cruel (and, yes, a bit trite), though. Here’s the scenario: the ones that got off the island go back. Either all together, or they’re drawn there, or something. Yes, even Walt, who I noticed they gave a convenient excuse never to talk about again in the last episode. So they all end up back on the island, and something catastrophic happens. It doesn’t matter what it is, war, natural disaster, plague, whatever. The important thing is that there is only one survivor. One of the main ones, I’m sure. So as that character is sobbing/screaming/cursing about their fate (now stuck on the island all alone, oh noes!) they – oh yes, I’m going there – wake up! And they wake up… on the plane as it’s going down! But it’s important that they don’t show the crash, so you never know if they land on the island, perish in the ocean, or land someplace they can be rescued. Seriously, can you think of a worse ending?

Also, Snerfflebarglast Round 4 will be up tomorrow. I'd put it up now or early in the morning, but I wrote out the rough draft longhand and left the paper at work. And I know I'll smurf it up if I try to re-create it, so you'll have to wait until lunchtime. On the up side, it's very different from the first three rounds, so if you're disheartened, cheer up! This could be your round.
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 02:18 am (UTC)
But on the bright side, you don't have a chipmunk for a bumcheek.
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 02:57 am (UTC)
Oh, dear, I was wondering what happened to you! A do-over is definitely in order!! I hope the rest of this week shapes up. It's no fair to deal with all of this when your defenses are down as well.
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 03:55 am (UTC)
want some New England snow to cheer you up?
i got plenty.
really.
does a number on ants.
i'll be glad to share.
really.
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 04:19 am (UTC)
*hugs*

So sorry.

Am emotionally drained myself or the sympathy would be more effusive.

I hope I can do well on the next round, because I've sucked so far.
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 01:47 pm (UTC)
Well, flowers are prettier than sod any day. I never cared much for lawns. ;)

In all seriousness, though, I hope you feel better. You deserve several weeks of awesomeness to make up for this!
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 04:50 pm (UTC)
*hugs*
Thursday, March 27th, 2008 08:13 pm (UTC)
So, you are saying that this week is treating you like this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fpc5vgi9zbM)?

I just had a student show me that video, saying-"the balloon represents my life" and then we watched it and laughed in horror (she was stressed, not distressed).