December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 01:12 pm
Today is the Superbowl (go, freakish tectonic activity that swallows up the stadium!) and for those that don't like football (freaks that you are ~.^ ) there's the commercials. And that (plus a recent commercial on TV) got me thinking about ads. We all loathe to admit that they might effect our decisions, especially on that unknown subconscious level. That bothers me a lot. What doesn't bother me so much is when, based on how annoying I find advertisements, I decide not to shop somewhere or buy a particular product.

Highest on my list used to be Old Navy. I have never (and probably will never) shop there. I don't think I've ever been in a store, to be honest. All because several years ago they ran a very long string of commercials that annoyed the living crap out of me.

Now, thought, that top spot has been usurped by Jared, The Galleria of Jewelry commercials. I cannot stand then, and even if I were in the market for a new favorite jewelery store (I'm not, I actually like the ones my hubby goes to!) there is no way I would set foot in that store. In fact, they should give me free jewelry for the metal anguish of having to sit through those insipid, annoying commercials.

Second place goes to the 'This is Our Country' Chevy commercials, but to be honest I was never going to buy a Chevy, anyway...

So, any commercials that annoy you to that level?
Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 08:12 pm (UTC)
Oh yes. I admire and love well crafted commercials, but I detest several commercials too.

For instance, this personal law suit/insurance thing that is on a lot, at least around here: "I want my money and I want it now!" ARGH, I hate that one.

There are several others, but since I don't like them I tend to block them ... I'd totally have to write them down and tell you later, lol.
Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 08:53 pm (UTC)
Don't even get me started on local commercials! Those are the worst! And the lawyer ones tend to be almost as bad as the used-car lot ones...

There are more I hate, I'm sure, but you're right - I tend to block them out. Like, I just saw a Truth commercial and remembered how much I hate them!
Monday, February 4th, 2008 10:15 pm (UTC)
*shudders* The biology Red Bull commercial. Gah, squicks me! Hate hate HATE it.

And the US Cellular/AT&T Valentine's baby talk commercial. *sporks*
Edited 2008-02-05 12:08 am (UTC)
Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 08:43 pm (UTC)
Haha, I tend to admire well-made commercials. The bad ones, I forget or change the channel.

I do think Jared has overused the "He went to Jared" story. It was cute 4 or 5 years ago when it first came out, but the new commercials feel recycled and trite. Kay isn't much better, but I think "Every Kiss Begins with Kay" has a longer staying power. It's more clever, and the commercials have a bit more vairety while staying true to the Kay corporation.

De Beers, on the other hand, has had wonderful campaigns. Their team is brilliant, as much as I detest the diamond industry. Zales is great too--their recent campaign has tied different angles with a single song by Vaness Carlton. A thousand miles is part of the Zales brand, and anytime I hear the opening notes, I think jewelry: Well done.

I really like the ads put out by cell phone companies, especially T-Mobile and Verizon. These two are particularly funny, and I love how characters reappear in second commercials. AT&T/Cingular's campaign with dropped calls was very cute, too, but there are only so many stories. However, I really can't stand the "chad" commercials by whoever. They were great when they used actors who looked like the spokespeople for the other brand, but I think they got in trouble for that and those commercials were removed from the air. The first Chad commercial was great, but the entire campaign is annoying.

I am looking forward to the Doritos commercials this year. Frito-Lay was brilliant by engaging viewers to create commercials--not a particularly new idea, but they have some great ones this Superbowl. I will be keeping an eye on both http://leighhouse.typepad.com/advergirl/ and http://super-bowl-ads.blogspot.com/.
Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 08:59 pm (UTC)
True, I think good commercials (that entertain and are fun) should be commended. If you can pimp a product and make me enjoy it, you've won.

One set of commercials that sticks in my mind (even after all these years) are the Snickers commercials. The 'not going anywhere for awhile' set. I still find myself saying, 'I am... BATMAN!' and 'That's great, but who are the CHEFS?' all the time.

The best DeBeers commercial was the spoof by Family Guy. That was priceless.

I also do not want to admit how long it took me to 'get' the Kay commercial tag line. Seriously, it was embarrassing when I finally went 'oh... OH!' *head meets desk*
Monday, February 4th, 2008 01:43 am (UTC)
The only television I ever seem to catch is kids shows. And the kiddie channels don't run ads.

This, I assure you, is more than made up for by the irritating programming itself...
Thursday, February 7th, 2008 12:34 am (UTC)
Really? They don't? Both Nickelodeon and the Disney Channel run tons of ads! How else is little Junior going to know what toys to incessantly pester Mom and Dad for? :D
Tuesday, February 5th, 2008 06:55 pm (UTC)
Oh lordy, I know the feeling. xD We have NTL, and some of the channels get the most irritating adverts you can possibly concieve of for loans and personal injury lawyers and stuff. Seriously. Greenhill Finance was the worst: about ten minutes straight (or at least it felt that long) of insipid people answering telephones and talking just slowly enough to really grate on my nerves.

The Vanish adverts annoy me, too. I think whoever's in charge of them goes round all the failed auditionees for other adverts until they find a bunch of people who really, truly cannot act one jot. And then hire an editor who makes the final effect even worse. D:
Why can we not simply have awesome adverts? Like the Honda ones, those are generally good. \o/
Thursday, February 7th, 2008 12:36 am (UTC)
Person injury lawyers... *sigh* Those are the most annoying ads, partly because I don't have very charitable feelings towards that profession. WAY too many lawyers in this country!

For every good ad there are dozens of bad ones. That's why man created DVRs. Sometimes, I set the DVR to record and start watching 10-15 minutes late, then I can fast-forward through most of the commercials!