*sigh* I have no photo editing software, the folder-explorer thing is CRAP, and I'm really tired of it asking me for permission to do every simple thing.
I hate it. I really, really, really hate it.
Topping off a day where we had 6 hours without cable or internet, and having to deal with the cable company (originally they said it was 'just us' and we were going to have to wait until Wednesday, but thankfully, our whole side of the street was out, so we got it back today), I am just not having a great day. I just need to punk on the day and go to bed. :/
No, there was a way to make XP act like the previous version, and there are a *few* things you can do to this one (like the start menu) but for the most part it's "CHANGE, SUKKAS!"
We got Office 2007 installed (part of the transition to eventually have Vista) and I hate the new Word format SOOOOOOOOO much, that I reinstalled 2003 because I was near tears one day. I hate it so much, the 'ribbons', the graphics, everything.
Why do they change perfectly good things?! We learn how to use a program... then they go and change it. And nine times out of ten they don't make it better, they just make it different. The only reason I can see is to drive us mad. There's really no other explanation.
I think the changes are hideous, inefficient and don't you think the graphics look like they are marketing it to elementary school children? All bubbly and crap.
Oh, and one other thing... it has new file extensions (.docx, etc.), so anything you save can't be opened on other computers! Joy! Or you just have to always remember to do a 'save as' and scroll to the normal .doc extension.
Pfft. Before I bought PippinBook, the only Mac experience I'd had was with the atrociously life-scarring iMacs in high school, and I pretty much only bought PippinBook because of the swish-swoosh in the corner thing.
And now I forget Windows keyboard shortcuts way more often than Mac ones.
Some things are just so much easier on the Mac. When I'm in my file-renaming-and-sorting moods, I do it on PippinBook because it's so much easier to rename stuff.
Oh no, it's been renamed nothing, and the system crashes.
Welcome to the dillemma that is the exponentially increasing speed at which technology grows and things become obsolete faster. Photoshop 6.0 is my forever friend.
Yeah, I'm sure I'll get used to it right around the time they roll out a brand new, completely different version! O.o
*sigh* It's just been a crap-tastic day, I need to just call it a night! At least I don't have to work tomorrow. And on Tuesday I should be going to the post office, so you might finally get those pattern books!
Lol. I'm not looking forward to it when I eventually get a new puter.
Awww hun. Big hugs. I'm sorry it was so bad. Go to bed and enjoy the day off!
Yay pattern books! I've been doing a lot of cross stitch lately--not the one you sent, not yet, though it came in handy for the needle. Somehow I've managed to lose all my extras O.o The one you sent is next in line, though. Eventually. This one is rather complicated.
Cross stitch just takes forever! I don't have the patience. Even the little ones take hours, I don't know how you do the big ones.
I think I have a package of cross stitch needles somewhere. I was always 'misplacing' them. I suspect they're at a party with my Shrek CD and the missing checkbook...
I like seeing the pattern unfold with each colour. It's pretty :D And I don't mind that it's long term--at least it's easy to set down and pick back up later.
Lol. The gremlins, they have been at your house ;)
This is one of the reasons I just bought a Macbook. (That said, the version of Office I got for it is clearly going to have the new crappy layout, so I do have some pain ahead of me when I install that tonight.)
I have a... well, we have a little Mac, as well. I think it's an iBook. One of the older ones. I have one giant complaint with Macs that I simply cannot get over - the lack of a solid window.
In every program on a Mac it opens all the menus all separate and floaty, and each 'file' opens in a completely different window, with bits of the desktop poking through. I hate that. I hate it so much that even though it's smaller and lighter than my PC laptop I'd rather lug mine around.
Macs? No, I hate them even more than Vista. Vista is, at least, close enough to old Windows that I will get used to it. No amount of playing with the Mac as ever made me comfortable with it. :/
no subject
no subject
I hate it. I really, really, really hate it.
Topping off a day where we had 6 hours without cable or internet, and having to deal with the cable company (originally they said it was 'just us' and we were going to have to wait until Wednesday, but thankfully, our whole side of the street was out, so we got it back today), I am just not having a great day. I just need to punk on the day and go to bed. :/
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Everything is harder and less intuitive. If I wanted this, I'd buy a %$#%* Mac. Or rather, I'd use the ones we already own. :/
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
(and it's funny, because I did originally learn computin' on those old Apples...)
no subject
And now I forget Windows keyboard shortcuts way more often than Mac ones.
Some things are just so much easier on the Mac. When I'm in my file-renaming-and-sorting moods, I do it on PippinBook because it's so much easier to rename stuff.
Oh no, it's been renamed nothing, and the system crashes.
no subject
no subject
I'll hold onto my old programs as long as I possibly can!
no subject
It'll probably take time to get used to it.
It's okay *pats*
no subject
*sigh* It's just been a crap-tastic day, I need to just call it a night! At least I don't have to work tomorrow. And on Tuesday I should be going to the post office, so you might finally get those pattern books!
no subject
Awww hun. Big hugs. I'm sorry it was so bad. Go to bed and enjoy the day off!
Yay pattern books! I've been doing a lot of cross stitch lately--not the one you sent, not yet, though it came in handy for the needle. Somehow I've managed to lose all my extras O.o The one you sent is next in line, though. Eventually. This one is rather complicated.
no subject
I think I have a package of cross stitch needles somewhere. I was always 'misplacing' them. I suspect they're at a party with my Shrek CD and the missing checkbook...
no subject
Lol. The gremlins, they have been at your house ;)
no subject
no subject
In every program on a Mac it opens all the menus all separate and floaty, and each 'file' opens in a completely different window, with bits of the desktop poking through. I hate that. I hate it so much that even though it's smaller and lighter than my PC laptop I'd rather lug mine around.
Why, Mac? Why?
no subject
*prods it into some semblance of a half-decent thingy for you*
Are Apple thingies are any better? (Uhm... please insert correct computer terminology, of which I know little to nothing. >.>)
no subject
no subject
no subject