I was going to try to take a picture of my 'to-read' pile today (the fabric-sorting has been put off for now, which is kind of a relief. I mean, I would have been glad to get it done, but at the same time it's intimidating!), but I have to cut up some munchies for a casual get-together this weekend. Which means cleaning the kitchen, so I have room to work and clean utensils to cut with. Unfortunately, the kitchen is a dumping ground, so besides the dishes there's old mail to sort of receipts to file... *sigh*
So you know one of the things on my list was to reduce that to-read pile by... did I say 90%? I don't remember. Anyway, yesterday I bought 5 books. Luckily (depending on how you look at it) one is a book I already own. I'm taking it back today (yes, not the first time I've done that, sadly). One is a copy of an out-of-print book I already own, but I'm a horder when it comes to that particular author. And the other was for my book club on Monday (better get reading!) - the library didn't have any copies available.
Yesterday we went through and, to the best of our abilities, updated our 'pedias. And I feel even more overwhelmed by our crap! The book count is a smidge over 1,650, the CD count is hovering near 600 (withfour six on the way), and the DVD collection clocks in at right around 400 (and I'm not sure how it counts a lot of the collections - I think it counts the complete Stargate as ONE, so ten season's worth of DVDs counts the same as a movie? If so, the actual number would be far, far higher as we have a LOT of big collections. And when I think about it, it has to be counting it that way, I think. Anyway, it's a metric butt-load). We are, in every sense of the word, stuff-ists.
So I'm feeling a little overwhelmed by the sheer amount of crap in my house, I admit, when
anam_cara comes along and posts a link to this picture. Now, that is bad. But I click on the link to follow it to the story here (it's a little sad) and in the comments... in the comments is a link to this post. Oh. My. God.
I feel a lot better about tackling my crap, now... Except the dishes. I hate doing dishes. *pouts*
So you know one of the things on my list was to reduce that to-read pile by... did I say 90%? I don't remember. Anyway, yesterday I bought 5 books. Luckily (depending on how you look at it) one is a book I already own. I'm taking it back today (yes, not the first time I've done that, sadly). One is a copy of an out-of-print book I already own, but I'm a horder when it comes to that particular author. And the other was for my book club on Monday (better get reading!) - the library didn't have any copies available.
Yesterday we went through and, to the best of our abilities, updated our 'pedias. And I feel even more overwhelmed by our crap! The book count is a smidge over 1,650, the CD count is hovering near 600 (with
So I'm feeling a little overwhelmed by the sheer amount of crap in my house, I admit, when
I feel a lot better about tackling my crap, now... Except the dishes. I hate doing dishes. *pouts*
no subject
no subject
(I totally have this theory that I'm giving people time to break down and quite their New Year's Resolutions, as that might skew the results. *nods* Yes, that's totally it.)
no subject
I need to start the next one on my list. I'm going to try to read at least one book a week this year (and seeing how hectic school gets, and that I'll be job hunting, that might not happen) though this means I absolutely have to go get a library card for this library. Le sigh.
no subject
My downfall for my to-read pile is the library. Since I work next door, I'm always going over there and getting books. I read those instead of the ones I already own!
no subject
Well, all I have right easy to get is the school library, which doesn't run into fiction hardly at all. I'll just have to start making the library part of my weekly rounds for groceries and stuff.
Treasure Hunting in your Crafts
You're probably more of a planner and architect type of organizer? Maybe if you sketch out how you want to redesign it? Sort of like a blueprint but instead of the house, just nooks and crannies-- i like the texture of shelves, bins, baskets and treasure chests.
Then you'll associate your crafts with Treasure hunting instead of piles of Winnie the Pooh!
Re: Treasure Hunting in your Crafts
Re: Treasure Hunting in your Crafts
Re: Treasure Hunting in your Crafts
Re: Treasure Hunting in your Crafts
no subject
I go through phases of letting things go...but I've become choosier about what comes in the house too.
no subject
But I have tried to be more particular about what I bring in, especially in the last year. I've certainly gone to fewer garage sales and my trips to the craft stores have been smaller and much less frequent.