December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Thursday, September 13th, 2007 08:11 pm
I has a fairy.

I also did the career quiz thing. The full list of 40 is below, some of the best ones came further down...


01. Biomedical Engineer - Yes, let's combine something I suck at (biology) with something I'm good at but don't really like (engineering). Sounds like a winning career choice!
02. Drafter - Twice the work and half the money of an engineer. I think I'll pass.
03. Pharmacologist - I don't have much to say on this one, it's not something I've ever been interested in or thought about, really.
04. Oceanographer - Seriously, no way in hell you'd cram me into a submarine.
05. Forensics Specialist - This is a career I'd love, except the whole hard work responsibility bit.
06. Model Maker - Actually, this would be awesome. It'd be like getting paid to craft!
07. Chemical Engineer - Perhaps if I'd liked Chemistry more in high school (I enjoyed it in college) I would have considered it. But, though ChemEs make more money, it's also a lot harder to get a job.
08. Civil Engineering Tech - Again, twice the work and half the money of an engineer. I think I'll pass.
09. Engineering Tech - And again, twice the work and half the money of an engineer. I think I'll pass.
10. Electrical Engineer - No, just... no. The EE portion of the FE exam I filled in the multiple choice answers as all Ds.
11. Astronomer - Is there any money in this?
12. Meteorologist - Not cute enough to be a weather bunny, but I could do storm chasing, maybe.
13. Medical Lab Tech - Nah, not interested.
14. Pharmacy Technician - This would probably require interaction with people. I think not.
15. Physicist - I... what? No, not smart (or nerdy) enough for this one.
16. Chemist - Actually, I was going back to get a degree in Chemistry when I got my 'break' in engineering. And a paycheck trumped more school, so... This would be cool.
17. Microbiologist - Biology - the only science subject I suck at. Probably not a great idea.
18. Hydrologist / Hydrogeologist - Close to what I do as a storm water engineer. Great fun, really...
19. Explosives Specialist - HOT DAMN! That would be fun, blowing crap up for a living! Where do I sign up?!
20. Marine Biologist - Eh...
21. Industrial Designer - No. Just... no.
22. Electrician - They say to the girl who almost electrocuted herself. I think I'll pass.
23. Zoologist - Sure, I could work with animals. If I could get past all the biology...
24. Electronics Engineering Tech - Oh no no no no no you have to be kidding me.
25. Electrical Engineering Tech - I think not.
26. Cartographer - Actually, I love maps. This would be awesome.
27. Electronics Assembler - I worked on an assembly line once. Never again...
28. Botanist - I worry the plants would come after me for all of their brethren I've offed...
29. Desktop Publisher - Seriously, have you seen my web site? No.
30. Fashion Designer - Could I make pajamas high fashion? If not, forget it.
31. Animator - Sadly, I think Comic Strip Theater is as far as I'll ever go.
32. Cartoonist / Comic Illustrator - Again, sadly, I think Comic Strip Theater is as far as I'll ever go.
33. Taxidermist - EWWWWWW!
34. Biologist - *points to aforementioned lack of biological knowledge*
35. Plumber - Is this a comment on my butt crack?!
36. Musical Instrument Builder and Repairer - Nah.
37. Interior Designer - Can I make dust chic?
38. Graphic Designer - Um, no. Again, lack of artistic talent. Unless icon-making is now a career...
39. Artist - Are you listening? Stick figures, people!
40. Computer Animator - How is this different than 'Animator'?
Friday, September 14th, 2007 02:14 am (UTC)
You did such excellent Relish cartoon strips, though! *giggles*

Very interesting array.
Friday, September 14th, 2007 01:36 pm (UTC)
Some of them I can see, others seem right out of left field...
Friday, September 14th, 2007 04:30 am (UTC)
How is this different than 'Animator'?

...quite a lot?
Friday, September 14th, 2007 01:36 pm (UTC)
Yeah, well, it was late and I was tired and running out of things to say. Are there any real pencil and paper animators anymore?
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 04:48 pm (UTC)
Yes, but don't think they're doing any big major projects with them anymore.

It's a shame, I really miss the very organic and fluid cartoons. =(
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 04:54 pm (UTC)
Me too. :(
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 04:46 pm (UTC)
I need the verb for when you turn off the safety on a gun. I have "clips off" curently but that doesn't feel right. I was thinking about "cocks", but from what I understand about guns that's preparing it for firing, not turning the safety off? I've been trying to find a verb on Wikipedia/Google, but I'm not putting in the correct words to get a hit and I don't know what I should be aiming for, anyway. =/

(It's an old gun, technology is about World War Oneish, so it's probably not going to have a dial thingy on it...?)

*puppy-dog eyes* Got any verbs for me?
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 05:00 pm (UTC)
'Clips off' doesn't really work. And, yes, 'cocks' means you pull back the hammer, getting ready to fire (there are many ways of doing this, and some guns don't even require you to - like a double-action revolver - but it's always a cool sound effect and all threatening like).

What kind of gun is it? I can't help you with shotguns or rifles, but on a 45 the safety is a small lever-like switch that locks the slide in place. You can flip it off with your thumb, so that's probably the verb I would use in that case. "Flicks" might work as well. "Snaps off" might also be appropriate, since it does make a clicking sound.

That's about all I can think of, sorry...
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 05:27 pm (UTC)
I'm just imagining a dinky little handgun. As in, the sort where you have to pull the trigger every time you want a bullet. A revolver, maybe? ([livejournal.com profile] penchaft suddenly has an epiphany as to why she writes in the sword&sorcery genre instead of the detective genre...) Something an officer would be carrying around - more for emergency than expecting to go out and kill dozens of enemies.

umm... something like

Single action

In a single action revolver, the hammer is manually cocked, usually with the thumb of the firing or supporting hand. This action advances the cylinder to the next round and locks the cylinder in place with the chamber aligned with the barrel. The trigger, when pulled, releases the hammer, which fires the round in the chamber. To fire again, the hammer must be manually cocked again. This is called "single action" because the trigger only performs a single action, of releasing the hammer. Because only a single action is performed and trigger pull is lightened, firing a revolver in this way allows most shooters to achieve greater accuracy.


?

So with your thumb you would flick off the safety, and then cock it with your thumb, and then pull the trigger with your pointer finger?
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 05:30 pm (UTC)
I have a single-action 38, and it has no safety. I'm not sure most single-action revolvers would, as the 'safety' is in that you have to cock it before it's fired.

But yes, you'd cock the hammer with your thumb and pull the trigger with your index finger.
Saturday, September 15th, 2007 05:32 pm (UTC)
Ah, I see. Thank-you very much! =)
Tuesday, September 18th, 2007 05:43 pm (UTC)
*sniffs while wiping tear from eye*
You make me so proud.

Actually, I think you said it best: "...flipped the safety off with his/her/its thumb." Then I'd follow it up with some comment about "...the metallic click ominously reverberating through the room."

The sound isn't as effective as cocking back a hammer, and way less intimidating as jacking a round into the chamber on a pump action shotgun. But it will punctuate an order rather nicely.