December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Thursday, January 7th, 2010 11:10 pm
A lot of the petty stuff that bugged me this morning doesn't seem like such a big deal right now. No, shoveling the driveway, forgetting my phone (and then having the library closed, so NO internet access all day!), and dealing with slippery road in a very bad-for-slippery-roads car is all nothing.

Not when you consider the 'no-hot-water-in-my-shower' problem.

There's hot water in the rest of the house (though maybe not the washer, which I think feeds from the same pipe). And, SO FAR, there's not a flood of water anywhere. So far. But that could just mean the pipe is so frozen that it burst and the ice is holding it together.

The wind chill is supposed to hit close to -30° tonight.

And we did hear that unexplained 'twang' sort of sound last night. Though if they're related, and it hasn't leaked yet, I think I'm okay until tomorrow, being this is going to be the coldest night. Did I mention the actual temperature is already -4°?

So tomorrow I shall call in with a plumbing emergency, and spend a day out in my garage pulling down a wall and inspecting a pipe. Then, if all goes well (please let it all go well) there will be no leaks, and it was just the handle on the shower, and I can re-insulate the pipes and toss up another piece of drywall. All goes badly and I have to shell out a bazillion dollars to a plumber and/or go all weekend without hot water.

...though, it just occurred to me, it would be weird if the hot water pipe is the one that broke, since it runs right next to the cold water pipe and I can get cold water. Unless it's a hot inside/cold outside sort of break. Whatever, I'm going to try (try) to sleep now and deal with it in the morning.
Friday, January 8th, 2010 05:10 pm (UTC)
Oh, that sounds AWFUL!!!

I hope it doesn't turn out to be a terrible burst, that there continues to be no leaks, and requires only the most minimum of repair!!

I'm quite ready for winter to be over as well. I'm so sick of shoveling a driveway that just gets filled in early each morning by the street plow. I have a TINY driveway, maybe 20 feet of sidewalk, and it just takes a ridiculous amount of time to shovel. Doesn't help that everything gets packed down and ice over. I need more shoveling equipment I guess.
Friday, January 8th, 2010 11:16 pm (UTC)
Well, I managed to do something, and there is now hot water. I don't know if it was the hours of blow-drying my pipes, the space heater in the bathroom, or the fact that I broke down and called a plumber (five minutes later the water started running - I kid you not).

No leaks spotted yet, and the faucet is on permanent 'dribble' to keep it from re-freezing.

This winter has been BRUTAL. Worse than any I remember, that's for sure. It... snowed again today. Not much, but just enough to show it could. As if the below-zero temps weren't bad enough!
Sunday, January 10th, 2010 02:45 am (UTC)
Don't I remember you leaving me a comment this summer that it was crazy melt you life hot? You seem to live in a part of the country that goes from one extreme to the other!
Stay warm, keep those pipes warm and I hope it stops snowing soon.

The weather here in Florida is no picnic either. But I'm sure those of you with all that snow don't feel all that sorry for us who have mostly unseasonably cold yet above freezing temps. We need heat too!
Sunday, January 17th, 2010 04:23 pm (UTC)
Yeah, it also gets melt-to-the-pavement hot here in the summer. We get all the crappy weather, sometimes in the same week...

It's been hovering between 35-40 the past few days and it feel warm. The snow is melting, slowly (it'd help if we has sun instead of freezing fog). Spring is just months away, can't wait for the flash floods, thunderstorms, and threat of tornadoes! :D