December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Monday, August 20th, 2007 08:45 pm
My internet is being touchy. So I think I'll just go to bed, watch a football game, and do some sudoku. Sounds like a solid plan... except, wait, I'm watching a movie in my office! I'd... forgotten about that.

Have you ever watched a movie so bad that you just wander off partway through or forget that you're watching it? Obviously, this applies mostly to multi-taskers, unless the movie is incredibly bad and you just wander off to get lost in your own thoughts while watching it. I can't say that's never happened to me, or, if I wasn't at the computer, that wouldn't happen with this movie.

So - I leave you with a question. All-time worse movie from a 'completely uninteresting' standpoint. Perhaps one you turned off partway through and never even wondered how it ended. Maybe you wandered off partway through and never came back. Whatever happened, let me know what movies to avoid!

And while you're at it, tell me what movie had you so riveted you'd rather pee your pants than get up and miss any of it? (Yes, hopefully in your own house you'd make good use of the 'pause' button, I know, but the idea stands).

And, for those of you wondering (all, what, two of you? ~.^) I'm watching (or rather, ignoring) An American Haunting.
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 02:44 am (UTC)
Traffic. The movie came on, and my brain turned off. I did everything but try to watch the movie because it took so much effort. Which is why I never understood how it got turned into a series.

Hmm, now, there's been a bunch of movies like that. At least the first time or three through. I'll have to think and figure out if I can name a specific one.
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:20 am (UTC)
I don't think I've ever seen that one, and judging by your review, I don't think I have any desire to!
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:22 am (UTC)
Some people love it.

Every time I've ever started to see it, though, my brain just goes click, off.
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 04:45 am (UTC)
That movie with Wolverine when he looks for the fountain of youth and it is three stories in one movie or something. I left during the Spanish Inquisition scene and forgot to come back. Seriously, I love me some weird movies, but that one was too weird for me. I think it was called Fountain...maybe? I still don't know what happens in it...don't really care, either. Maybe I will wikipedia it...

Lessee...pee-in-my-pants movies...hmmm...TMNT was so awesome that even though I sat through most of the movie with my brother, I rewound it later to watch the first ten minutes because I missed them. It wasn't so much good as, "ZOMG Raphael don't betray your brother....I can't move from my seat I need to know what happens...AGHHHH!"

300 was awesome, and I did actually have to pee about 3/4 the way through, but since I was watching it with the parentals, I couldn't go for a bathroom break because my dad is notrious for not pausing movies.

Disturbia was fun in a "This movie is terrible but I can't stop watching it when did that Disney kid turn hot omg dirty thoughts he's like...my age...ooooh...ewwwww dead people everywhere" sort of way.
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:22 am (UTC)
You know it's bad when you don't even care that you don't know how it ends!

I'm in the holds queue for 300 at the library. I think I'm number 190 or something now. I've never even heard of Disturbia, but that makes me want to watch it. As for TMNT, I don't think I could do it, just because of how old I was when the original TV series came out.
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 02:57 pm (UTC)
Cabin Fever - Just....what huh? Seriously. I payed attention at maybe three points in this movie: When the girl is shaving her legs and a chunk of skin comes off and she just keeps going, at the near-porn point where that same girl says "In situations like this it just makes you want to grab the nearest person and fuck the hell out of them" and then cut to the scene where they're having mad sex (Purely for laughs, seriously), and when the old man at the end of the movie hands a group of suburban gangsta's a new rifle and starts talkin gangsta when he's a hillbilly. That's it. The rest of the movie was just static.

Starship Troopers 2: Hero of the Federation - Okay, so I turned this movie off for all the parts that didn't include someone having a bug pop out of their head, naked bloody women seducing generals to put said bugs INTO their heads (cuz it was hilarious), and pretty much every scene that didn't have Richard Burgi in it.
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 07:01 pm (UTC)
I was so surprised by that old hillbilly at the end of Cabin Fever I laughed my ass off and it totally redeemed the rest of the atrocious film.
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:26 am (UTC)
I've never heard of Cabin Fever, but it sounds like something the Sci-Fi channel would play late at night (I love me a good bad Sci-Fi movie marathon... I wish they didn't play crap like wrestling, seriously, that makes no sense).

They made a sequel to Starship Troopers? Like the first one just wasn't bad enough? *still can't get over Doogie Howser as a genius military expert who talks telepathically with giant bugs*
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 03:01 pm (UTC)
For some reason I keep falling asleep in The Sixth Sense - don't ask me why. I dozed off in the cinema the first time I went to see it, and every time thereafter, be it on TV or DVD, I doze off. *shrug*

My "oh, must watch can't go pee" movie... Hmmm.. I'm not sure. Depends if I'm at the cinema with a extra-super-duper-sized Coke or not. I generally keep it in 'cuz I just absolutely have to see every moment of a movie, except the ones I fall asleep in.
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:27 am (UTC)
I didn't mind the Sixth Sense the first time I saw it, but it has zero re-watch value to me. And I've not liked anything else M. Night Shyamalan has done.
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 07:12 pm (UTC)
Did I mention how much I absolutely LOATHED Gangs of New York? So much that I wanted to walk out of the theatre, but my friend wouldn't let me because we paid 10 bucks to see it, so I had to settle for making rude comments very loudly?

I can't remember any of their names anymore, but every Tommy Lee Jones movie that came out in the last 5-7 years has made me want to punch myself in the face for choosing to watch it.

Snakes on a Plane didn't even live up to the hype of being an awesomely bad movie...it was just mediocre action crap.

Boxing Helena was so terrible I still hold it against my brother-in-law that his terrible suggestion caused me to lose two hours of my life.

Have you ever watched The Good Girl? I ask because I know ALL SORTS of women who LOVE that movie...and I thought it was the biggest pile of boring tripe. I just can't understand why people who I otherwise respect could like that movie...

And, if ever you get the opportunity to watch a movie called P.I.N., I recommend running as far away as you can, as fast as you can. Immediately.
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:30 am (UTC)
No, you've never mentioned that, though it's not a movie I ever wanted to see... or could picture you liking, really (I know, I don't know you that well, but it was a gut instinct thing). Tommy Lee Jones was in Men in Black, that was a good movie... though I don't remember when it came out...

Snakes on a Plane was a huge disappointment for me. I like bad horror movies, but it was just... eh.

I've not seen either Boxing Helena or The Good Girl - the first I never had any interest in, the latter I've never heard of.

And why do I have a sudden desire to see if I can get a copy of P.I.N.? Knee-jerk reaction, I guess... ;)
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:37 am (UTC)
I'm not going to rant about Gangs of New York, I'm not, I'm not, I'm not...

Okay. I'm all right now.

Men In Black came out late 90's, and was probably the last good movie he was ever in.

And if you ever find a copy of P.I.N., and don't run screaming in the opposite direction as wisely advised by me...well, don't say I didn't warn ya!
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:44 am (UTC)
"After the deaths of an emotionally distant doctor and his equally stern wife, their orphaned children continue on a bizarre life course involving a relationship with their father's medical dummy."

Oooookay. And yet, Yahoo Movie ratings has it at a B+ and several critics liked it! Of course, they could have been paid off, but still...

Sadly, we'll never know what I would think, because the library doesn't carry a copy of it. Oh, well... ;)
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:47 am (UTC)
It was SO FUCKED UP. And not in a good way. I watched it with four other people, ad all will still shudder at the very name. That movie almost broke our brains. It was evil, I tell you!

As for the critics...ome people liked Gangs of New York, too. ;)
Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 07:16 pm (UTC)
Bad Movies(Its a tie): Vanilla Sky, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Ghostrider.

Good Movies: Natural Born Killers & Silence of the Lambs.
Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 12:33 am (UTC)
My hubby likes Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, but I've never gotten into any of the martial arts films. I have a feeling you either love them or hate them, and I think I know which side I'd fall on...

I'm not a huge Tom Cruise fan, so Vanilla Sky was never on my to-watch list. I do have Ghostrider on my holds list, but I'm not expecting much, so I won't be disappointed.

Silence of the Lambs is a classic! I've never seen Natural Born Killers, I don't know why, it just never grabbed me. Though I can't even remember what it's about...