December 2020

S M T W T F S
   123 45
67 89101112
13141516171819
2021222324 25 26
272829 3031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Saturday, December 5th, 2009 01:59 pm
I haven't even mentioned the cute ornament [personal profile] auraesque sent me, which is adorable and I feel bad I haven't said anything yet. Yeah, it's been a busy week, but that's no excuse. Perhaps, partly, the reason I haven't is that it's an ornament. And if I start talking about ornaments I have to think about trees and that's something I'm trying to avoid doing. Because, really, I don't want to go get the massive, annoying tree out of the attic, and I don't think Mr. Smeddley will settle for another year with the Charlie Brown Christmas tree. The other option is spending money on a new tree that already has lights on it, and I don't want to do that, either. I'm too worried about the whole economy/job crisis thing to think it's worth it to plunk down a few hundred bucks on a new tree. But the other option is facing the attic, and seeing what damage those mice probably did... and I don't want to do that, either. Argh!

Plus my house is a mess, I have the largest pile of clean clothes you've ever seen to put away, I still haven't started my Christmas cards, let alone done any shopping, and all I want to do is crawl back in bed. Bah!

Also, I know I still need to send [personal profile] gelsey an e-mail, but the jump drive with the PDF on it is all the way downstairs... ;) Maybe when I go get my next cup of coffee I'll remember...
Saturday, December 5th, 2009 11:20 pm (UTC)
...Why can't you just get a live tree and put lights on it yourself? I don't know how much a small live tree would be, but I'm pretty sure not a few hundred.
Sunday, December 6th, 2009 12:01 am (UTC)
I'm not a big fan of live trees. I'm not that good of a housekeeper, and I'd have pine needles places I shouldn't have pine needles. And I'm bad at remembering to water things, hence my houseplants all being pothos.

And, if I'm going to have to put lights on a tree, I might as well haul out my fake one. That's the part I can't stand, and why I want a pre-lit one.

A live tree would run $40 or so. My old fake tree was... $250? And I've had it for 13 years. In the long run (especially considering how could I haul it home, and then dispose of it?) fake is cheaper. Though it hurts to shell out all that money at once.
Saturday, December 5th, 2009 11:32 pm (UTC)
Don't worry about me :D If you forget, most likely I will too. Snorts.
Sunday, December 6th, 2009 12:01 am (UTC)
That's why I need things like flagging on my e-mails... ;)
Sunday, December 6th, 2009 02:47 am (UTC)
One reason I love gmail to death.