No Charges Yet After Dragster Deaths
One day after the car careered into a crowd and killed six people, witnesses questioned why the driver was allowed to speed down a multilane highway with no guard rails, lined on both sides by hundreds of spectators. […]
"It ain't really safe to do anything with drag cars on a city street," said 19-year-old Garett Moore, who said he was about 15 feet away from the wreck, but was uninjured. "They shouldn't have done it."
Well, dipshit, you shouldn’t have been standing there, now, should you? I’m sorry, but I have enough brain cells to know that standing next to a drag strip is a Bad Idea. I’m sorry people died, but what made them think it was a wise move to stand there? What made them think that it was someone else’s job to look out for their safety? What made them think, “Hmmm, this looks dangerous, but, you know, everyone else is doing it, so it has to be okay”? Or are they lacking the inner voice of common sense? Were they really that stupid?
Hey, everyone, let’s go stand by the side of a freeway, shall we? Are people so brainless, such mindless sheep, that they don’t even think any more?
Although I do agree with this:
"There should have been guard rails," Staples said. "But even if there had been, it wouldn't have mattered."
Guard rails only do so much. Fences only do so much. People are injured every year at far safer races by wrecks and blown tires. That’s one event that – if I ever did go to it – I would be more than happy to be in the nose-bleed section.
…but you still can’t convince me that car racing is a ‘sport.’
In other front-page news, a boy scout was killed by a falling totem pole, another boy was killed by a bear (sadly, I’m sure the bear will be hunted and killed), a man was killed in a car accident after a tire blew out, 3 people were shot in a drive-by, a teenager drowned in a lake, a child was washed away and killed in a storm, and police shut down a pedophile ring (surprisingly, neither Livejournal nor Warriors for Innocence were named! Shocking!).
Seriously, is there no good news in the world? Please, someone, tell me something nice happened recently. And I promise to stop looking at the news. I know it just irritates me.
One day after the car careered into a crowd and killed six people, witnesses questioned why the driver was allowed to speed down a multilane highway with no guard rails, lined on both sides by hundreds of spectators. […]
"It ain't really safe to do anything with drag cars on a city street," said 19-year-old Garett Moore, who said he was about 15 feet away from the wreck, but was uninjured. "They shouldn't have done it."
Well, dipshit, you shouldn’t have been standing there, now, should you? I’m sorry, but I have enough brain cells to know that standing next to a drag strip is a Bad Idea. I’m sorry people died, but what made them think it was a wise move to stand there? What made them think that it was someone else’s job to look out for their safety? What made them think, “Hmmm, this looks dangerous, but, you know, everyone else is doing it, so it has to be okay”? Or are they lacking the inner voice of common sense? Were they really that stupid?
Hey, everyone, let’s go stand by the side of a freeway, shall we? Are people so brainless, such mindless sheep, that they don’t even think any more?
Although I do agree with this:
"There should have been guard rails," Staples said. "But even if there had been, it wouldn't have mattered."
Guard rails only do so much. Fences only do so much. People are injured every year at far safer races by wrecks and blown tires. That’s one event that – if I ever did go to it – I would be more than happy to be in the nose-bleed section.
…but you still can’t convince me that car racing is a ‘sport.’
In other front-page news, a boy scout was killed by a falling totem pole, another boy was killed by a bear (sadly, I’m sure the bear will be hunted and killed), a man was killed in a car accident after a tire blew out, 3 people were shot in a drive-by, a teenager drowned in a lake, a child was washed away and killed in a storm, and police shut down a pedophile ring (surprisingly, neither Livejournal nor Warriors for Innocence were named! Shocking!).
Seriously, is there no good news in the world? Please, someone, tell me something nice happened recently. And I promise to stop looking at the news. I know it just irritates me.
no subject
no subject
Oh, and I wanted to work in the sarcastic comment about WFI.
no subject
...I'm not sure why that's good. Or why it's news.
no subject
On the other hand, they were making a big deal about going to see the 'Beckham game' last time I went to see the Wizards, so he'll be playing here at some point.
no subject
no subject
Natural Selection has really let us down lately.
no subject
They had a stupid lame hunt for him all around SF... until they finally caught the guy later that day.
It was the weirdest and eeiriest bit of news.
then there was a day a few months ago when I saw a pedestrian get hit by a car, the car coming down off a hill road at full speed- a volvo no less-- a huge machine of a car... and this little old Chinese lady walking slowly across the crosswalk. I was the second car at the perpendicular intersection and saw the little old lady fly up into the air and land into the ground. She got up and started walking again... but I'm certain she had internal injuries!!!
A whole building full of people came running out to try to help her.
no subject
I'm terrified to ride my bike, unless it's on a bike path, because people drive like maniacs these days! I hate walking places, too. :/
no subject
http://sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2006/08/29/BAGAEKRCO55.DTL
no subject
no subject
Seriously - I was deliriously happy for an entire day once because I got a bag of birdseed open on the first try!
no subject
My tiny happy news is that I didn't really spend my friday building a birdhouse after all. That was just a convenient excuse to not tell people that I was really spending my friday watching tv with the dude that actually showed up for the date with me the other times. And also I think I'm dating now. I can't honestly suppose it's a relationship yet, but... well, it's moving along nicely! :)
no subject
no subject
Hey, it may not be GOOD news...but it's kinda funny.
I try not to pay too much attention to the news, because it either enrages or terrifies me.
no subject
I'm with you, I try to avoid it, but every now and then I succumb. But I at least try to keep it to local news - worldwide news is terrifying AND depressing.
no subject
critical mass
and at burningman they organize the feminist (although of course hard core feminists would debate whether it's really feminist)
the Critical Tits ride
no subject
That is hysterical! More people need a sense of humor - I think that's awesome.
no subject
So I'll leave it in your imagination to visualize thousands of embellished tits with pasties or paints or other...
it's like a feminine army parade
no subject
The ".org" domain notwithstanding, Critical Mass is not an organization, it's an unorganized coincidence. It's a movement ... of bicycles, in the streets. Accordingly, this isn't the official Critical Mass web page, because there is no official Critical Mass web page. There are, however, a bunch of unofficial web pages.
no subject
Like the sheer cliff wall walk about 40 feet off the beach with no handrail. It even had large slabs out of the middle where they were working on the underpinnings. Everybody just walked calmly around or called out to those behind to be careful.
I wonder about our society when so many people think others should think for them. Do we really have to have a warning that being a spectator at a drag race might be dangerous? sheesh.
no subject
I'm pretty sure I couldn't handle a walk like that, but it sounds absolutely lovely. Darn me and my irrational fears!
no subject
What depresses me is that it's usually the more educated people who scream "sue!" whenever they've done something stupid.